Tuesday, January 31, 2012

One Ravin' Review

 Book Title: Raven
Author: Suzy Turner

Book Summary:

            “After the inexplicable disappearance of Lilly Taylor's parents, she has no choice but to move to Canada where she unravels some frightening yet intriguing family secrets... Her whole life had been based on a lie.  Lilly had grown up in a loveless home with a father who she had barely ever seen and a mother who was... well, not very motherly. After they mysteriously disappear without a trace, Lilly is sent to Canada where she finds a whole new way of life.  A life filled with love and people who care for her. But that's not all she discovers, Lilly also finds out that she isn't who, or what, she thinks she is.  Lilly has a very special ability and it's just a matter of time before her true self starts to shine.  And when it does, her life will never be the same again.  Raven is a fantasy novel for children and young adults set in the beautiful province of British Columbia.”

            This story is really thought-provokingly good.  Good as in– makes me want to cry in frustration, happiness, sadness, elation, and sympathy-- kind of good.  This book is not all rainbows and unicorns… okay, well it does have witches, were-animals, vampires, and ghosts in it… but that’s not the point.  The reason Raven speaks to me so forcefully is the touch of reality Suzy Turner mixes into this paranormal novel.  Lilly has so much going on emotionally from her parents disappearing, having to moving to Canada, finally experiencing a loving family, to learning horrifying secrets about her past.  I really like how the story is set up from the very beginning.  Turner gives some background right up front, but within the first few chapters, more elements are revealed through dialogue and the reader following Lilly’s normal routine.

            One of the first things that strikes me about Raven is that the main character, Lilly Taylor, is not named, nicknamed, nor goes by “Raven”.  I just assumed that Raven would be her name, and it wasn’t.  Don’t worry; the title is still very fitting, just in a slightly different way.  I also really like the dialogue.  It never seems forced or unnatural to me, and it has a very good, constant flow.

            Apart from the emotional pull, this book also has a kick-butt paranormal plotline.  Raven features were-animals, witches, vampires, and spirits while weaving the magic into the story seamlessly.  Some parts of the story played out like I expected, but others parts were surprising. 

Raven is a really amazing book, and I cannot wait to read Book Two: December Moon.

The Cover:

            Okay the girl on the cover completely embodies my mental picture of Lilly.  She looks like a lost, scared girl who is trying to hide from the world… and that’s exactly how she started out.  Looking at this picture, I can’t help but compare this Lilly to the Lilly at the end of the book, and the changes are remarkable.  I think the black and white color scheme is the perfect choice for this cover, and it makes Lilly POP! (Especially her eyes!)

I give Raven 4,5 out of 5 hearts: Very Highly recommended!!

For more on Suzy Turner visit her website here: http://www.suzyturner.com/
You can buy Raven here: Amaazon or here: Barnes and Noble

Sunday, January 29, 2012

Rafflecopter Giveaway: So you all have a chance to win!

IMM (#2)

Hosted by Kristi from The Story Siren 
       This is my second week participating in IMM (in my mailbox) so obviously I liked it! or I wouldn't be back again. IMM is a meme that allows bloggers and readers to learn about each other and good books. IMM is not only for books you receive in the mail, it is also for ebooks, books you bought, and books you checked out at the library.




       These books all look AWESOME :) Let me know what your thoughts are on these books and book covers. Sadly I don't currently have any reviews on any of these books, This week I am hoping to change that!

What did you get in your mailbox?

Saturday, January 28, 2012


       So this week I was really slapped over the head in regards to publicizing my blog... I mean if I just sat here everyday and wrote a post no one would ever find out that this blog existed.  No one.  Okay, maybe one or two people would stumble across it but they probably wouldn't care and certainly wouldn't be interested enough to spread the word. 
                 What does this have to do with me being slapped over the head you ask?  Not much, other than the fact that I didn't have a Twitter.  I've always had the motto that Facebook was for 'the mildly curious' while Twitter was for the stalkers, and maybe it is a little.  Maybe.  This week I realized that Twitter is actually a good way to spread the word about anything, not just a blog.  So I caved and made an account.  Yep.  You heard me.  I got a Twitter.  If you would like to stal-- err follow me @epiloguereview that would be lovely :)

    In other news I am busy reading, reviewing, and relaxing over this weekend… what are you doing this weekend?

Friday, January 27, 2012

Review: Bloody Little Secrets

Title: Bloody Little Secrets
Author: Karly Kirkpatrick

Book summary:

“17-year-old Vicky Hernandez has a big problem. She's dead.  Or not quite.  After discovering she's been turned into a vampire, she tries to settle into a quiet suburb of Chicago and return to a normal life.  If only she could stop wanting to bite her boyfriend.  Not to mention she is dying to find out who turned her, and why.  She doesn't have to wait long before they come to her.”

Has anyone ever told you that it’s fun to wake up incased in darkness and confined in a coffin?  Yeah, they lied.  Vicky Hernandez wakes up buried alive only to learn that… well… she’s not really still alive, or is she?  Astounded by mysterious traits that don’t all seem to add up, Vicky is only sure of one thing: she has to get out of this town.  Vicky leaves her home (and two dead bodies) behind to start over in Chicago where she meets five amazing friends that will change her life forever.

I feel very connected to Vicky’s character; from the beginning, I sensed that she had a very distinct personality.  One thing that stands out about Vicky is that she is not a weak little victim who hides behind her boyfriend; she is a very strong independent female lead that is very refreshing.  Bloody Little Secrets is a fantastic novel that clearly illustrates the importance of trusting in oneself and the amazing impact the small act of acceptance can have on a person.  The only thing that really bothers me about this book after I finished it was that it feels like there are a few loose ends that haven’t been tied up.  Bloody Little Secrets moves along quickly and leaves you curious as to how things will unfold.  This spin on the realm of vampires puts a fresh feel to life after death and leaves you wondering --- when can I join?

The cover:
The front cover of this book is, in my opinion, a very good choice.  The girl’s piercing gaze drew my attention immediately and, the further I read into the book, the more fitting the cover appeared.  All in all a stellar cover for a fang-tastic novel! 

I give this book 4 out of 5 hearts: great book!

For more on Karly Kirkpatrick visit her website here: Karly Kirkpatrick

To buy her books go here: Amazon or here: Barnes and Noble

Wednesday, January 25, 2012

One on One with C.K. Bryant

"Christine has always been a writer. Even before she could compose a single word with pen, she scribbled her version of cursive along the open page just to see what it looked like. As a teen, she swiped her dad's old Royal typewriter so her muse could breathe life into what her vivid imagination had created. 

She's spent the last twenty-five years married to the man of her dreams and raising their two sons. After helping run the family restaurant for most of their marriage, Christine finally broken away to pursue her dream of being an author. 

When she's not with her family or tickling the computer keys, she loves camping, reading, scrapbooking, listening to all kinds of music, and making new friends. 

Christine [is] currently living in the middle of sage brush and lava rock with a spectacular view of the Snake River Canyon in South Central Idaho." 

For more about C.K. Bryant visit her website here: http://christinebryant.blogspot.com/


1. What is your favorite Television show/Movie?
A:  Oh, man. I have so many. I absolutely love HAVEN. I also like to watch GHOST HUNTERS, SURVIVOR & HAWAII FIVE-O. Don't snort at the last one. I'm totally in love with Alex O'Loughlin and will watch him in absolutely anything. He used to star as a vampire in MOONLIGHT. LOVED that show. *fans self*

2. What was your inspiration for Bound?
A:  ACK!  This sounds so cliche. Like . . . couldn't I come up with an original answer to this question? *ahem* Okay, brace yourself. It was a dream. See, I told you it was cliche. *shakes head* So embarrassing.

3. What's a perfect day for you? (sunny, rainy, etc.)
A:  I have to close my eyes for this one because I don't think it exists in my world. *deep breath* Aw, there it is. I wake up to the pulsing beat of a ceiling fan as it circulates the ocean breeze drifting through the open window. Crisp white sheets drape across my body and hunk I'm all tangled up with. Waves crash up on the beach a short distance from us. We'll walk there later, but not before he makes me eggs benedict, fresh squeezed orange juice and massages my scalp while washing my hair. *cough* Yeah, right. Honestly, I'd be happy with a bowl of Cheerios, a glass of Tang and two hours of uninterrupted time to write. The beach would be nice, though.

4. How difficult was it for you to make up a whole new world?
A:  Ha!  I have a warped imagination, so not difficult at all. For me, creating is the easy part of writing.

5. In 1-2 sentences please explain why we should read Bound?
A:  Bound is one of those books where you can completely lose yourself in the story, forget about your own problems, and experience something that makes you feel emotions you never knew you had. We all need to get away from reality once in a while and reading Bound can do that.

6. What do you do when you experience the dreaded writer's block?
A:  UGH!  I think writer's block is different for each writer. Some get stuck in their story and have trouble figuring out where to take it next, while others dry up and have no words to give. I've never had problems like that. I lay awake nights trying to shut my brain down because it's so full of ideas and words. Writer's block comes to me when I can't get into my "ZONE." There are so many distractions in life, so many things on my do-list that call to me—email, blogging, *ahem* interviews, etc.—that drag me away from my writing, that when I finally get the time to do it, I often FREEZE and forget how to write. I wish I had a cure, but to be honest, I just have to glue my butt to the chair and not leave until the words start spewing onto the computer screen.

7. What is one thing you have never done but always wanted to try?
A:  I actually have a very long "bucket" list, but if I had to choose one thing, I'd love to go to New York and see a Broadway musical.

8. Do you have a music playlist for Bound?
A:  I WISH! There have been a few songs that have come and gone during the writing process, but I've never made a list. I'd LOVE it if some fans did that for me—sent me a song or two that made them think of the story between Kira and Octavion. Or even the friendship between Kira and Lydia.

Thanks for asking me to be your guest today, Lauren. It's been fun.

Thanks Christine, I had a blast!  This interview put a smile on my face and I hope it has done the same to everyone who has read it.  Make sure you check out her blog: http://christinebryant.blogspot.com/.  For more information about her book BOUND you can read my review here:  BOUND.  Happy Reading!

Tuesday, January 24, 2012

Review: Get a GLIMPSE of this great book!

Title: Glimpse (Zellie Wells book 1)
Author: Stacey Wallace Benefiel

Book Summary: (only part of the Amazon summary is used)

            “Zellie Wells has a devastating crush on Avery Adams, the son of her mom’s high school sweetheart.  At her sixteenth birthday party, held in the basement of her dad’s church, she finally finds the courage to talk to him.  Turns out, the devastating crush is mutual.

As Avery takes her hand and leads her out onto the makeshift dance floor, Zellie is overwhelmed by her first vision of his death; shocking because not only are they both covered in his blood, but they’re old, like 35, and she is pregnant….”

Its not often you get a look into the future, but Zellie Wells gets that privilege. Oh Joy.  As this ‘gift’ causes first conflict then difficult choices and mass confusion, Zellie begins to question the value of her newfound ability.  Trying to make sense of the chaos that follows, Zellie is forced to choose between the people she cares about the most.  This story leads you down a road full of one teenager’s tough choices, overwhelming discoveries, and steadfast determination. 

            Zellie is a well-rounded character and while she comes across (mostly) as a confident individual, she does have some major insecurity issues when it comes to Avery.  I really like how Glimpse doesn’t just jump into the main plotline; Benefiel takes the time to introduce you to the characters and their history with one another.

            The beginning of this book was well paced and captivating, but by the third quarter, it started getting very busy.  I thought I might need a spreadsheet to keep up with all these sub-plots!  I really liked the main plotline, especially the romantic issues between Zellie and Avery, but the sub-plots with Zellie’s mom got confusing.  I felt that her mom reacted uncharacteristically and unrealistically to certain situations (at least it was hard to wrap my head around her actions) and, towards the end, she really started to get on my nerves.  Luckily, since this is only the first book, Zellie’s mom still has time to get back into my good graces. 

Throughout Glimpse I really came to respect and admire the loyalty and amazing lengths Claire (the best friend) would go to ensure her friends happiness.  I was also very intrigued by a mysterious stranger who I cannot wait to hear more about!  This is a good fast read and is well worth your time!


            Oh the irony.  The girl on the cover is looking down and when I first saw this book I correctly guessed it had something to do with seeing something unseen by most… well, the title helped a little.  I really like the soft colors used on the cover and, of course, the glitter Valerie Wallace did a great job on this cover!  Oh, the girl on the front is gorgeous, and I want her eye-makeup.  Badly.  Color me jealous. 

I give this book a Four out of Five hearts: Great Book!
** This book does have some mild sexual material and I would not recommend for children under 14.**

For more on Stacey Wallace Benefiel visit her website here: Stacey Wallace Benefiel 

To buy the books you can go here: Amazon or here: Barnes and Noble

Monday, January 23, 2012

IMM (#1)

Hosted by Kristi form The Story Siren

       This is my first week participating in IMM. (In My Mailbox) IMM is a way for bloggers and readers to learn about each other and good books. IMM is not only for books you receive in the mail, it is also for ebooks, books you bought, and books you checked out at the library. So without further delay...




Links to reviews from this group:
Bound: by C.K. Bryant
Become: by Ali Cross
Beautiful Demons: by Sarra Cannon
Tangled Tides: by Karen Amanda Hooper

Thanks for stopping by!

Friday, January 20, 2012

Review: Get TANGLED up in a good book

Title: Tangled Tides
Author: Karen Amanda Hooper

Book Summary:
“Yara Jones doesn’t believe in sea monsters—until she becomes one.
When a hurricane hits her island home and she wakes up with fins, Yara finds herself tangled up in an underwater world of mysterious merfolk and secretive selkies. Both sides believe Yara can save them by fulfilling a broken promise and opening the sealed gateway to their realm, but they are battling over how it should be done. The selkies want to take her life. The merfolk want something far more precious.
Treygan, the stormy-eyed merman who turned Yara mer, will stop at nothing and sacrifice everything to protect his people—until he falls for Yara. The tides turn as Yara fights to save herself, hundreds of sea creatures, and the merman who has her heart. She could lose her soul in the process—or she might open the gateway to a love that’s deeper than the oceans.”

Mermen, Selkies, Sirens—Oh MY!  What would you do if you were taken against your will and transformed into a mermaid?  Fall in love with the merman that took you, of course!  Yara is less than pleased to learn that she is destined to live an abnormal life.  Struggling to uncover the truth, Yara will capture your attention and swim away with your heart.
Tangled Tides transports you into a world where mythological sea figures are alive and well... and fighting.  In this battle-to-the-finish you will be intrigued by the ever-shifting perspectives and the refreshingly new plotline.  This book has a very original story line that is unlike anything I have ever read before.  The characters have depth and Karen Hooper didn’t just jump into the story.  She took the time to build up the characters’ background and to help you understand each character’s point of view.  This book is fasicating, fresh, and full of self discovery.  A must read for anyone interested in Fantasy, Fiction, Romance or Mythological creatures!

The Cover:
This book cover screams “Read me I’m an amazing book about mermaids”.  Well yeah. This cover is beautiful and the details really make it stand out -- Melissa Williams really nailed it.  The water droplets and lightning in the background focalize the mermaid and highlight the title and tail.  A stunning cover for a stellar book!  Don’t miss Alexandra Shostak’s amazing designs inside the book. They rock.

I give this book 4.5 out of 5 hearts:  Very Highly Recommended. 

For more on Karen Hooper visit her website here: Karen Amanda Hooper

To buy her books you can go here: Amazon or here: Barnes and Noble

Thursday, January 19, 2012

Spreading the Word

          After contemplating the best ways to get this blog known, without spamming peoples emails,  I decided to make an Epilogue Facebook page! This is a way for me to track and spread the word about Epilogue faster, with less hassle and fewer angry spam receivers. I will put up on this page the links to my reviews so if you prefer to be on Facebook this will be a quick and easy way to get to the reviews. If you are so inclined to like this Facebook page you can do so here: Facebook-- Epilogue.

*My next review will be posted either late tonight or sometime tomorrow so be sure to check back later!

Tuesday, January 17, 2012

Review: Beautiful Demons

Title: Beautiful Demons (Book 1 of the Peachville High Demons series.)
Author: Sarra Cannon

Book Summary:
          “Harper Madison isn't like other girls. She has extraordinary powers, but her inability to control them has gotten her kicked from so many foster homes she's lost count.  Shadowford Home is her last chance, and she hopes Peachville High will be the fresh start she needs.  But when evidence ties her to the gruesome murder of a Demons cheerleader, Harper discovers this small town has a big secret.”

            This book is a page-turner with an ending that will leave you scrambling to get book two.  I can already tell that Beautiful Demons lays the groundwork for a marvelous series.  Harper makes many startling revelations that invoke more questions and not nearly enough answers to satisfy my mounting curiosity.  Especially since Harper finds it impossible to stick to the rules —even if this is her final warning…
This book features two very different romantic interests.  I’m looking forward to the second book to see how things play out between these rivals!  Beautiful Demons is a magical book that transports you into the mind of a confused girl who just she wishes that she were normal.  Haunted by a past she can’t escape and uncertain as to what her future will be, Harper starts her life over. Again.  This book will captivate you and leave you wondering… “What’s up with those cheerleaders?”  Wonderfully alluring and severely mysterious, Beautiful Demons will shock you when you least expect it!

The Cover:
This cover by Robin Ludwig Design, Inc. is GORGEOUS.  Having the girl looking down at the necklace creates a truly wonderful effect.  The bright blue of the stone really stands out and is completely accurate with the details in the story.  This cover art draws your eye and makes you never want to look away.

I give this book 4 out of 5 hearts: Great book and a lead into, what I believe will be, a must read series!

To learn more on Sarra Cannon visit her website here: http://www.sarracannon.com/

To buy the Beautiful Demons go here:Amazon or here: Barnes and Noble

Monday, January 16, 2012

Review: Become

Title: BECOME: a novel of Desolation
Author: Ali Cross

Book Summary:
“Sixteen-year old Desolation Black wants nothing more than to stay in Hell where it’s cold and lonely and totally predictable. Instead, she’s sent back to Earth where she must face the evil she despises and the good she always feared.

When Desi is forced to embrace her inner demon, she assumes her choice has been made—that she has no hope of being anything other than what her father, Lucifer, has created her to be. What she doesn’t count on, is finding a reason to change—something she’s never had before—a friend.”

Desolation Black has the fate of the world in her hands.  Literally.  In the battle between the Light and the Darkness, she alone holds the key. Having grown up, literally, in Hell Desi hasn’t had what you would call a “normal” childhood.  I really like that, throughout the novel, I understand what Desi is feeling and why she chooses to do things, the way she does.  This novel is powerful, well written, and has a wonderful flow.  This story kept me on my toes, and I loved being surprised by some of the decisions that were made!

That said Become has, in my opinion, a distinctive dark feel.  Many of the themes and actions in the story lean towards this darkness and, for me, made the book less enjoyable.  I do, however, understand why these parts are included.  The darkness has to be there to explain who Desi is and what she has lived with her entire life.  One cannot live in Hell and expect no sin or violence.  I get that.  Just be aware going into the book that it’s there.  Because of the dark content (which includes drugs, violence, and sexual situations), I suggest that parents read it first for anyone under 16. Overall, the word I would use to describe this book is; Powerful.

 The Cover;
            If you can look at this cover and tell me it does not look powerful, I would have to say that you're blind.  It is beautiful and all the elements work together to create an image that intrigues you and makes you want to delve deeper. The cover design (done by Ali Cross) and the cover art (done by Fanye L.O.) are both amazing and beautiful!

I give this book 4 out of 5 hearts; Great book! Because though it is darker, it is well written and intriguing.

To learn more about Ali Cross visit her website here: http://www.alicross.com

To buy Become go here:Amazon or here: Barnes and Noble 

Sunday, January 15, 2012

Review: A book you are BOUND to love!

Title: BOUND (#1 in THE CRYSTOR Series)
Author: C.K. Bryant

Book summary:
“When a photo shoot ends in tragedy, Kira discovers her best friend, Lydia, has been keeping a secret. Knowing the truth, and accepting it, will change Kira’s life forever and thrust her into a world of ancient curses, magical objects, and savage enemies. What happens next will challenge everything Kira knows about her world, herself and the shape-shifting warrior she’s falling in love with. No longer the timid mouse her mother accused her of being, but a woman who finds the mental and physical strength to endure and survive.

BOUND is a heroic tale of true friendship, infinite sacrifice and untamed love.”

The first thing that struck me about this book is its depth.  The characters themselves are very deep… they have layers. I would just start to feel like I knew the characters when SURPRISE they would do something I didn’t expected. Take Kira for example; she loves her best friend Lydia like a sister, has an awful home life, and suddenly learns a secret that will change her life forever. No pressure. The way her character handles everything is, to me, remarkable. She will do anything to help her friend but she doesn’t just blindly jump into things. She thinks about the best move to make, and doesn’t let a pesky warrior bully her into submission. One thing that stood out for me about Kira is that she doesn’t have a perfect home life as many main characters do. She actually has to deal with several emotional things that make you want to step in and hug her.

Bound is full of page-turning anticipation that, coupled with the amazing plotline, gives you a story you should not miss.  Bound is full of action, love, self-discovery, the tests of friendship, and having faith in those closest to you.  A fantastic must-read for all paranormal romance lovers!

            The cover of this book is exquisite. The girl on the cover perfectly matches my image of Kira, the intensity in her gaze matches up exactly with her attitude.  Bound would be a great gift, especially if the receiver appreciates a well-written story that has a beautiful cover to match.

I give this book 4.5 hearts; Very Highly Recommended! 

To learn more about C.K. Bryant visit her web site here: http://www.ckbryant.com 

To buy the Bound go here: Amazon or here: Barnes and Noble

*Check back later for my interview with C.K. Bryant* 

Saturday, January 14, 2012

Review: Drawn together yet torn apart

Title: Starcrossed
Author: Josephine Angelini
Book summary:
" Helen Hamilton has always tried to hide how different she is—no easy feat on an island as small as Nantucket, and only getting harder as she finds herself haunted by hallucinations and vivid nightmares.
It's not until she crosses paths with Lucas Delos at school that Helen's true heritage is finally revealed. Yet even as Lucas helps her awaken to her startling powers, they can never be together—not unless they can break free from the tragic destiny the Three Fates have in store."

Okay people this book is worth reading. If nothing else, the cover deserves to be drooled over. This book is well written, well paced and simply well done! I received a copy of this book for my birthday from my best friend and after reading the summary; I knew it would be a home run. It didn’t disappoint. This book is full of Romance, Action and a Strong bond between two best friends.
            I have always been a fan of Greek mythology and am always on the lookout for new books that incorporate it into the plot line. To me this is a Percy Jackson meets Romeo and Juliet refined and perfected novel. Suspenseful. Delicious. Waiting to be read by YOU. Besides, with all these twists and turns you will surely be on your toes up to the very end. The ending will leave you full of questions and desperately awaiting the next book.

This book receives 5 hearts I loved it!

For more about Josephine Angelini visit her web site here: http://www.josephineangelini.com

To buy Starcrossed go here: Amazon or here: Barnes and Noble 

Front Cover!

I have a problem. I am a huge judge of books based on their cover, and who can blame me with covers like this! This is the BEAUTIFUL cover of Die For Me. Completly drool-worthy. This is a book that you can put on your bookshelf facing out so it's all your friends comment and want to borrow it. Okay maybe not, who would want to be parted from this book? Your friends can get their own. If the cover alone doesn't make you run out and buy the book read my review listed below. Then get out your kindles kids, it's time for a new purchase!

Friday, January 13, 2012

Review: A book to DIE for

Praise for Die for Me (By Amy Plum)

As if dealing with the death of your parents isn’t enough, Kate Mercier’s future changes forever when her older sister decides that they should leave their home state of New York, fly to Paris, and move in with their grandparents. Simple. Grieving from her sudden and tragic loss, Kate secludes and immerses herself in the alternate world that books and art provide. Then she sees Vincent.

From the moment they lock eyes this Tall, Dark, and oh so Handsome Frenchman brings Kate back to life. As things heat up Kate learns the truth, Vincent is more than he appears. He’s a revenant, and it is his job to give his life to save others from death. Over and over again. On top of the fact that she might have to watch her (maybe) boyfriend die, she also has to deal with the fact that he is immortal while she, is not. Throw in a pack of evil revenants that will stop at nothing to kill everyone in their path and you have a decidedly memorable story. This book will wrap its hands around your heart and squeeze leaving you breathless as you turn the pages. Well written and painfully romantic this is a perfect book to curl up with on a cold winter day.

I give this book 4.5 out of 5 hearts!

For more on Amy Plum you can visit her website here: http://www.amyplumbooks.com

To buy the Die for Me go here: Amazon or here: Barnes and Noble