Wednesday, February 29, 2012

Review:The TEMPEST Rages On

Title: Tempest
Author: Julie Cross

Book Summary:

The year is 2009. Nineteen-year-old Jackson Meyer is a normal guy… he’s in college, has a girlfriend… and he can travel back through time. But it’s not like the movies – nothing changes in the present after his jumps, there’s no space-time continuum issues or broken flux capacitors – it’s just harmless fun.

That is… until the day strangers burst in on Jackson and his girlfriend, Holly, and during a struggle with Jackson, Holly is fatally shot. In his panic, Jackson jumps back two years to 2007, but this is not like his previous time jumps. Now he’s stuck in 2007 and can’t get back to the future.

Desperate to somehow return to 2009 to save Holly but unable to return to his rightful year, Jackson settles into 2007 and learns what he can about his abilities.

But it’s not long before the people who shot Holly in 2009 come looking for Jackson in the past, and these “Enemies of Time” will stop at nothing to recruit this powerful young time-traveler. Recruit… or kill him.

Piecing together the clues about his father, the Enemies of Time, and himself, Jackson must decide how far he’s willing to go to save Holly… and possibly the entire world.”

           Being able to jump back in time but unable to change past events wouldn’t frustrate me at all. NOT. I would constantly be trying to figure out what the heck is the purpose of my ‘gift’. This is my first impression of Jackson. He has this power. He doesn’t understand it, and he is frustrated by it. Wow does that change fast! In one night, Jackson is thrown into a world of chaos where nothing is as it seems. Unanswered questions, shocking discoveries, and desperate searches all add up to one final conclusion. When a situation is this precarious, Jackson has to find the right person to trust.

           Tempest is like drinking a cold glass of water after being in the desert for a month. Refreshing, fulfilling, and in dire need of a warning label saying: “Don’t consume too quickly -- slow down and savor it”. Seriously. This book is just that good. About a month ago, I began hearing amazing things about Tempest and was instantly intrigued. Then, about a week later… BOOM… Tempest started popping up everywhere. And I do mean EVERYWHERE. So many people singing praises for Tempest confirm my initial reaction: this book is made of awesome.

           The praises and the premise aren’t the only great things about Tempest; the characters and the details Cross adds to the story are a huge reason that I like it. I am not a guy. That said, I think Cross does a fantastic job of getting inside a guy’s mind, and a teen at that! Jackson isn’t perfect. He makes mistakes, he ticks people off, and he says the wrong things. I LOVE that he doesn’t know exactly what to say to Holly or what he says that makes her mad. A lot of guys just don’t have a clue what they do that irks me: I have to explain, and so does Holly.

           I really like the way Holly’s character is written. She comes to life, and her reactions all strike me as genuine. There is a big change from High School Holly to post High School Holly. She becomes more restrained as she grows older, and these changes are obvious. Hopefully, I’ll get a closer look at Holly in book two! Adam is the other crucial character that I really feel connected too. Adam is, without a doubt, the brains of the operation. He is that kid who sits in the back of science class who everyone just KNOWS will discover the cure for cancer. Adam is quirky and fun but still faithful and a wonderful friend to both Jackson and Holly. To sum up this long review, let me just say: I LOVED THIS BOOK TO PIECES!

The Cover:

           This cover is so detailed. Now really, could it be more fitting? I never tried to imagine what a time travel book cover would look like because most authors wouldn’t try it. All those other authors are crying because they didn’t think of this first. I love how the girl is reaching up while I can see she is falling back down away from him. I also like how he is grasping for her hand and seems intent on catching her before she slips to far away. This cover is fantastic!

I give Tempest 5 out of 5 hearts: I LOVED IT!!

For more on Julie Cross visit her website here:

Or buy the book here:

Tuesday, February 28, 2012

Leap Into Books Giveaway!!!

           Hey, guys! From February 29th through March 5th, I am participating in the Leap into Books Giveaway Hop hosted by I Am A Reader, Not A Writer and Jinky is Reading.  I am very excited as this is my first time participating in a giveaway hop.  I stated earlier that I would be doing my 100 follower giveaway soon and then this awesome hop came along!  So, I am doing this hop INSTEAD of a normal 100 follower giveaway.  I do have a special prize all picked out incase I reach 200 followers which I will award in a separate giveaway.  However, if I reach 200 followers before this hop is over I will divulge what the next prize will be! SO, Because you all are awesome I have reached 270 followers: WOW. As promised I have announced my awesome prize here: Announcement. Tell me what you think! =)

           What I’m offering for this giveaway is your choice of one of the fantastic books listed below.  Don’t like my books?  Well, fine.  If you DON’T like any of these books I will allow you to choose one book up to $15 from the Book Depository. This giveaway IS open internationally AS LONG AS the Book Depository ships to you for free. Don’t know if you qualify?
Check here:  Book Depository

Well, now that I'm done rambling, lets move on to what you could win!

 Your choice of one of these great books:


Any one book up to $15 from the Book Depository

My Button


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Contest Rules:

- The contest runs from February 29 – March 5, 2012
- You must fill out the Rafflecopter form for enteries.
- The winner will be drawn at random.
- If you are chosen, I will contact you by e-mail.
- If you win, you have one week to respond to my e-mail. If you do not respond within the week, I will choose a new winner.
- The contest is international as long as the Book Depository ships to you.

Want more great chances to win? Check out the other stops in this giveaway hop! :)

Sunday, February 26, 2012

IMM (#5)

In my mailbox is a meme hosted by Kristi at the Story Siren

This meme allows bloggers to hop from on blog to another and see what others are reading.  It is also a way to showcase the books in a little day of fame since it might be a while before the review is ready!

For Review:

A special thanks to Lisa Nowak for her kind recommendations!!

Don't forget to enter my giveaway to win a paperback of Become and some really cool SWAG: Click here to enter the giveaway!

Saturday, February 25, 2012

Review: For The Sake Of CLARITY

Title: Clarity
Author: Kim Harrington 

Book Summary:

“Don't close your eyes.  Except when the truth is too dark to bear.

Clarity "Clare" Fern sees things.  Things no one else can see.  Things like stolen kisses and long-buried secrets.  All she has to do is touch a certain object, and the visions come to her.  It's a gift.

And a curse.

When a teenage girl is found murdered, Clare's ex-boyfriend wants her to help solve the case -- but Clare is still furious at the cheating jerk.  Then Clare's brother -- who has supernatural gifts of his own -- becomes the prime suspect, and Clare can no longer look away.  Teaming up with Gabriel, the smoldering son of the new detective, Clare must venture into the depths of fear, revenge, and lust in order to track the killer.  But will her sight fail her just when she needs it most?”

            If I could see glimpses of the past, believe me when I say that I would be working with the new detective’s smoldering son to solve a murder case!  Clarity Fern has always had a very indifferent out look on her “gift”.  But, when the chance to solve a murder and save her brother arises, she will do everything in her power to prove he is innocent.  Teaming up with her ex-boyfriend is not high up on her list of things to do.  However, the chance to clear her brother’s name and to work with the smoking hot son of the new detective proves to be an irresistible combination!

            What first strikes me while reading Clarity is how quickly I am introduced to Clare.  Almost immediately I KNOW her.  She acts tough and uses her words to push others away, but deep down she’s just a little girl who wants to feel safe and loved.  Her big brother (Perry) is her world.  She even lies for him.  In fact, I can’t think of anything she wouldn’t do for him.  He is her rock.  A huge part of this book is about understanding the relationship between Clare and Perry.  Without grasping this relationship, decisions they both make would be impossible to comprehend.  I definitely sense Clare’s family loyalty from the fact that, while she can forgive her brother almost anything, no one else better even think about crossing her. 

            Clare obviously has a complicated history before I am introduced to her.  I can tell she has an estranged relationship with Justin, her ex., but I don’t know exactly what happened.  I think Harrington weaves in the background information very well.  She doesn’t just start off the book with a 15 page preface that details what happened BM (Before Murder) but, by the end of the story, I understand Clare’s past.  This book does have a love triangle and, unlike the last few stories I have read with these, it pulls it off well.  I really dislike when an author writes a love triangle where one of the two guys NEVER has a chance.  This situation isn’t like that; I STILL don’t know whom she’s going to choose!

            I love how this book is written.  It is a quick read, but I don’t feel like the story line is rushed at all.  Yes, it ends with some unanswered questions, but it doesn’t stop on a complete cliffhanger!  Clarity captures and holds my attention.  This book is amazing, and I cannot wait to see where the second book takes Clare!

The Cover:

           This cover is so beautiful!  I don’t know if the image shows just how intricate the design work is, but if not: ZOOM IN.  Her hair has some very strategically placed swirls that double as waves in her hair.  With the ocean and seagulls in the background and the sun directly behind her, the backdrop for the girl is breathtaking.  Add in a set of piercing eyes, that I believe can see my secrets, and we have a fantastic paranormal/ fantasy cover

I give Clarity 5 out of 5 hearts: I LOVED it! 

* I cannot wait for the sequel. Perception looks amazing!

For more information on Kim Harrington visit her website:

You can purchase clarity here:

Thursday, February 23, 2012

Feature and Follow Friday (#4)

Hosted by the lovely ladies Parajunkee and Allison Can Read

Q: Activity!!! Take a picture or describe where you love to read the most...


I love to read in my bedroom with a stack full of pillows behind me. Sometimes I prop up my arms or lay down on my stomach, but my bed is the place to read!  My brother even jokes that it is my 'set-up' LOL.  I will, sometimes, read on the couch but after a few hours it messes up my back.  I have always dreamed of having a window seat with big wide window overlooking a beautiful scene.  Since that doesn't seem likely anytime in the near future I will hope you all have a more interesting place than mine.  Well, I'm off to check out your special places! =)

*Don't forget to enter my latest giveaway: the fantastic prize is a paperback copy of BECOME and some AWESOME SWAG! and check out my post for some great eBooks UNDER $5!

Wednesday, February 22, 2012

Money Saver Special!!!

Hey guys! Due to my blog reaching 100 followers I put together a SUPER SPECIAL, MONEY SAVING post.  I WILL be doing a 100th follower GIVEAWAY in about a week when my current giveaway (top left of the blog) is over!  I know everyone likes to save money so I have put together a collection of some great looking eBooks.  That's not all.  Right now all of these eBooks are under $5, so act quickly. (:

Some Great reads for $4.99
(I have read, and really liked, all three of these books!)

Here are some books you can get for $3.99
(I have read three of these.  The other three are on my TBR pile)

These great looking books are just $2.99!
( I have read two of these.  The rest are on my TBR pile)

This is the JACKPOT folks: the $.99 eBooks!
(I have read four of these.  The others are on my TBR pile!)

The Freebies!
( I haven't read them, but they sound AWESOME!)

These are only a few of all the great eBooks under $5 so look around!  Also, if you don't have a kindle you can download the app for free onto your computer.  If you don't like electronic reading I believe all these books are available in paperback. :)

See something you like but you need more details? Check out my review page to see if I have reviewed it!

Tuesday, February 21, 2012

Review: How do you pick up the Scattered Pieces?

Title: Scattered Pieces
Author: Alice Lynn

Book Summary:

“When Katie's little brother is snatched in 1946 it tears her family apart.  It's only through Katie's friendship with the irrepressible Marilyn, and Marilyn's handsome brother Tom, that she navigates a lonely childhood.  In college, studying psychology helps Katie understand her mother's deteriorating mental state and her own fears.  It also leads to a client who may hold clues to the mystery of her brother's disappearance.”

Sure, my brother and I don’t always get along, but that doesn’t mean I want him kidnapped!  Katie is forced to grow up FAST when her younger brother is snatched, right from her grasp, at a crowded train station.  Her family starts to deteriorate as each member deals with his or her grief in their own way.  Katie learns to open up to those closest to her and slowly voices her fears about that day: that it was all her fault.  With her friends beside her, Katie comes to terms with the events of that terrible day and starts to move on…

            This book is technically considered Women’s Adult Fiction but, since a HUGE part of the book deals with Katie growing up and her challenges in high school, I decided to give it a whirl.  Honestly, it is one of my better decisions.  Scattered Pieces is wonderful!  The writing is descriptive, alluring, and haunting.  When little Jimmy goes missing, I can FEEL the panic and the terror that overwhelms Katie.  The despair that envelops her family is like a cloud, thick and tangible.  Throughout Scattered Pieces, I see Katie and her best friend Marilyn grow and change.  Katie chooses a career in psychology, while Marilyn chases dreams of acting and modeling.  Lynn has a way of letting me see the world and events from Katie’s perspective.
            I think Alice Lynn’s background really adds to Scattered Pieces -- she has a degree in psychology.  What does this mean?  It means that she actually knows what she’s talking about.  I feel this adds greatly to Scattered Pieces because Lynn doesn’t just say Katie’s mom is sinking into depression, she shows the mental and physical symptoms as well. 

            The only thing I don’t like about this book is its sad subject matter.  A little boy being kidnapped is sad.  No way around it.  That said, the rest of the book is about how Katie and her family deal with the tragedy and how they let it change them.  This heart-wrenching book is very realistic and definitely connects me emotionally to the characters!

The cover:

            Puzzle pieces.  Those little things are known for getting lost under couches and mysteriously disappearing, leaving the puzzle incomplete.  How fitting, then, that the puzzle pieces with Katie’s family members on them don’t fit together.  They are separated.  This cover is a wonderful choice for Scattered Pieces!

*This book does have a couple mildly inappropriate sexual scenes but they are easy to avoid. 

I give this book 5 out of 5 hearts: I LOVED IT!!

Sunday, February 19, 2012

Giveaway of Become + SWAG

          Hey guys, awesome news! Ali Cross is providing a paperback copy of BECOME and some AHH-mazing SWAG.  I have included a picture of the SWAG you can win below.  It includes a signed BECOME bookmark, a BECOME keychain and a really cool hand-knotted celtic heart bracelet!

           BECOME is a great read that I definitely recommend!  For more convincing check out my review: BECOME review.   If you entered and didn't win my past giveaway for an eBook copy here is your chance!  Because this IS a paperback the contest is only open to people in the UNITED STATES.  It is NOT international!

Check out more about Ali on her website:

a Rafflecopter giveaway 

Imm (#4)


In my mailbox is a meme hosted by Kristi at the Story Siren

This meme allows bloggers to hop from on blog to another and see what others are reading. It is also a way to showcase the books in a little day of fame since it might be a while before the review is ready! I did not participate in IMM last week so these are what I recieved last week to this past Friday.



What did you get in your mailbox?

Saturday, February 18, 2012

Review: Running Wide Open

Title: Running Wide Open
Author: Lisa Nowak

Book summary:

“Cody Everett has a temper as hot as the flashpoint of racing fuel, and it's landed him at his uncle's trailer, a last-chance home before military school.  But how can he take the guy seriously when he calls himself Race, eats Twinkies for breakfast, and pals around with rednecks who drive in circles every Saturday night?  What Cody doesn't expect is for the arrangement to work.  Or for Race to become the friend and mentor he's been looking for all his life.  But just as Cody begins to settle in and get a handle on his supercharged temper, a crisis sends his life spinning out of control.  Everything he's come to care about is threatened, and he has to choose between falling back on his old, familiar anger or stepping up to prove his loyalty to the only person he's ever dared to trust.”

No one said being a teen is easy.  Cody Everett is that one punk everyone remembers from high school as “trouble”.  That kid who sneaks out for a smoke, graffities buildings, and says things just to watch people squirm.  Would you take him in after the police pull him over, again?  I don’t know if I would, yet that’s exactly what his uncle Race does.  After testing his uncle, multiple times, Cody begins to realize that maybe Race does care, and he starts to let down his guard.  Then tragedy strikes, and Cody is left wondering why he ever bothers and thinking it might be time to just give up for good…

This book is an emotional rollercoaster.  I start out thinking Cody is just some disrespectful punk who has some major anger issues, but now I am happy to say I was totally and completely wrong.  Cody has baggage, sure, most of us do, and past experience definitely accounts for his trust issues.  At the beginning of Running Wide Open, I want to smack Cody every time he‘s rude or belittling to Race, but the more I read, I realize that it’s his defense mechanism kicking in.  Then, I (im)patiently wait in anticipation for that moment when he will cave in and completely trust Race. 

Typically, I love books that have romance in them; they appeal to me as a teen and connect me to the story.  Running Wide Open doesn’t have any major romance.  Actually, with Cody there is NONE.  Truthfully though: I don’t even notice.  This book catches and holds my attention so well that I‘m not even worrying about when or if a girl will come into Cody’s life, I just want to see if he will unintentionally drink rotten milk again.  Yeah, you read that right.

Running Wide Open is a MAJOR character-building book, and it ties me to the characters: all of them.  Normally, I feel a connection to the main character, but here I feel connected to not only Cody, but also to Race, and even to Cody’s dad!  I really feel like I am a part of the family and completely, emotionally connected to the story.  I will admit that I cried.  Twice.  Yes, it is that moving.  Yes, it is that touching.  Yes, you should read it. 

The Cover:

This cover has many bright colors that all work well together to make this image interesting.  The car, the stadium, the guy, all of these elements perfectly fit into this story.  Personally, I really want to reach into the cover and force the guy (Cody) to turn around so I can see what he looks like! 

*I cannot wait to read Book II: Getting Sideways, it looks AMAZING!!*

I give Running Wide Open 4.5 out of 5 hearts: Very Highly Recommended!!

Check out more on Lisa at her website here:

You can buy Running Wide Open here: 

or here: Barnes and Noble

Friday, February 17, 2012

Feature and Follow Friday (#3)

Hosted by the lovely ladies Parajunkee and Allison Can Read

Q: I like unique names for characters and am looking forward to coming up with some when I start writing. What's the most unique character name you've come across? 


Well.....probably Desolation from Ali Cross's book Beocme. I think it is the most unique character name and one that still perfectly fits the character!  So many books have characters with unusual or unique names, what is the most unique character name YOU have come across?



Thursday, February 16, 2012

Review: Midnight Child

Title: Midnight Child (Book three in the Midnight Guardian series)
Author: Bryna Butler
I give this book 4.5 out of 5 hearts: Very Highly Recommended.

~This review is for Book # 3, I suggest you read my earlier review of Whispering Evil BEFORE reading this one.  This review contains spoilers for Book #2. ~

Book summary:

           “So you read the prophecy. It’s all mystical, but pretty vague. Am I right? Those three, short lines are absolutely frustrating. Lucky me, I’m the one who’s supposed to figure it out. My name is Keira Ryan.  I’m the child born of sun and moon.

           Join Keira as she chases her destiny in this exciting third installment of the Midnight Guardian Series. While Keira searches, the mogdocs draw closer and a new alliance emerges to threaten the existence of her charge, the midnight child. A strange locket passed to her on Christmas Eve may be the key. Secrets are unlocked at the Great Serpent Mound. A history of trust is tested. A promise of passion turns deadly. A surviving evil creates doubt and there’s only one way to stop it…Find the Gift.

Just what do you get the spoiled gremlin queen that has everything?”          
           “Yeah, we need to have a kid.”  If I were Keira and I heard that, I would run.  Far and fast.  After William (Brun: high prince of the mogdoc) springs his interpretation of “The Prophesy” on Kiera, things get a little crazy.  Colby starts to act weird and, soon enough, Keira is cut off from him and their friendship.  Ann is a true, good friend, but she has her own issues to deal with and can’t always be around.  Arden—Keira’s trainer—is great, if not a little overprotective.  On top of it all, Kiera keeps getting surprise visits from Brun… everywhere.  He shows up outside, in cars, in the woods, and even in her bedroom.  Top it all off with a psycho queen who wants to kill her and all her friends, and we have a must read story!
           Midnight Child is the third book in the Midnight Guardian series and continues Bryna Butler’s tradition of greatness.  This book captures and holds my attention until the very last page.  It fills my mind, and I just can’t put it down until I reach the end.  Throughout the story, the plot twists and turns intrigue me.  The character depth is complex and, in some cases, shocking.  I really like how this story develops, from the beginning to the end.  So many things change: including my opinion of a few characters.

Kiera is a wonderful, powerful protagonist who, from the beginning, jumps out of the book and captivates me.  Her devotion to keeping her charge and her friends safe is one of her many charms.  One thing that I love about Butler’s writing is that she makes the world very realistic.  Yes, this is a YA Fantasy, Paranormal, Fiction book, but the key elements are dead on.  For example, Kiera makes some bad decisions that actually have consequences.  She doesn’t just walk away every time a fight breaks out unscathed because she’s special.  I think that is one of the most important aspects of this entire series, and especially Midnight Child!

The Cover:
           Okay, my first reaction to this cover: “Why is the baby screaming???”  That reaction is quickly followed by: “If a baby dies, I will personally kill the mogdoc that did it.”  To me, this cover sums up the story: keeping Drew safe.  I assume that the little boy is Drew and, from the beginning, I can only wonder what has him in such a terror.  This cover is such a great way to spark interest in the story underneath!
            *Midnight Child officially releases tomorrow, so get ready to go get it!*

Find out more about Bryna Butler and Midnight Child by visiting her website:  

You can purchase Midnight Child here:

Wednesday, February 15, 2012

One on One with Stacey Wallace Benefiel

"I'm a midwestern girl, born in Indiana, raised in Missouri, who moved out to Oregon for college in 1993. I attended U of O in Eugene, and nearly graduated with a double major in English and Theatre. After a short stint in Portland, I moved to Los Angeles to become an actress and ended up going to culinary school instead. I met my husband in L.A. and after four years of living in Venice Beach, I persuaded him to leave sunny California and head back to Oregon. We've lived here since 2002 and have a son and a daughter."

Interview with Stacey Wallace Benefiel:

1) How would you describe yourself? 

Crazy busy, ambitious, adventurous.

2) When you sit down to write a new book do you start with an outline or do you just start writing? 

I just start writing. I usually don't do an outline until I'm about halfway through a book, so I can get my thoughts in order.  I'm writing a book with Vicki Keire and we're outlining.  Here's to new experiences!

3) What is the best advice you have ever been given?

Keep your eyes on your own paper.

4) In one sentence why should we read Glimpse?  

Let me entertain you.

5) Are you a night owl or an early bird? 

Both. I never sleep. Too many things to do!

6) If you could meet anyone in the world present or past who would it be? 

I'd love to meet Amelia Earhart.  I was obsessed with her when I was in high school.

7) Which do you enjoy more; reading or writing? 

I probably enjoy reading more because it's never work.  I love to write, but it's not easy.

8) Do you ever get tired of answering emails?

Not really. Although, I have to get away from the computer for a whole day from time to time or my brain feels fried.  My reward for this is usually 100 e-mails the next day. :)

Thanks so much for taking the time to do an interview with me!!  I don’t know if I could never sleep, I always sleep through breakfast on the weekends.  Being able to function on little sleep must have its advantages!

Check out my review of Stacey's book: Glimpse

For more on Stacey visit her website:

Tuesday, February 14, 2012



TRANSFER STUDENT is a science fiction Freaky-Friday romance/adventure about two normal teenagers struggling to survive high school and deal with their parents… typical rites of passage. The twist? One teen is an alien from the planet Retha. In a galactic teleporting experiment gone wrong, Ashley, a Beverly Hills High surfing fashionista, and Rhoe, the biggest geek on planet Retha, swap lives. Only by surviving life as their biggest nightmare do Ashley & Rhoe discover their dreams. How far would you go for someone you love?

To enter to win all you need to do is tweet this & follow Laurasmagicday:
Tweet:  “Nothing says #ValentinesDay like an alien #romance! TRANSFER STUDENT Cover Reveal! #TransferStudent #teenreads #kindle
The first 100 tweets/followers win!

Giveaways include free ebooks of TRANSFER STUDENT, Amazon gift cards & weekly surprise gifts that are out of this world!

*This is your first look at Transfer Student, stop by later to hear...err read my thoughts about the cover!  Make sure you look for the blog tour starting leap day!* 

Monday, February 13, 2012

Review: In His Eyes

Title: In His Eyes

Authors: The indelibles (listed below with their short stories)

Rating: 5 out of 5 hearts: I LOVED IT!!

Since Anthologies are short stories, I really can’t do an in-depth review on each one without ruining the whole plot.  So, in honor of “short” stories, I am going to summarize my initial reaction to each story from In His Eyes in 5 words!

Surprise Surprise by Stacey Wallace Benefiel:
What a great Valentines date!

First Kiss or First Kill by C.K. Bryant:
Medicine Mix-up had me laughing.

Shattered by Ali Cross:
She better love him back.

Before by Jessie Harrell:
Who would turn down Eros?

The Qualm Before the Storm by Karen Amanda Hooper:
Just kidnap her and leave.

Unspeakable by S.R. Johannes:
Full of mystery, major cliffhanger!

In the Beginning by Katie Klein:
I want my own guardian!

A Chance Encounter by Cheri Lasota:
Where is this girl going?

Family Bonds by Heather McCorkle:
Definitely worth breaking the rules.

Getting Closer by Lisa Nowak:
A sensitive guy, how refreshing.

Precalculus by Cory Putman Oakes:
Math SHOULD be that exciting!

The Almost Assassin by Laura Pauling:
Who would taze a mime?

Mind Games by Susan Kaye Quinn:
Don’t they believe in privacy?

By The Firelight by Elle Strauss:
Do NOT mess with Casey.

A Very Alien Valentine’s Day by Magan Vernon:
Aliens have some serious class.

Aligned by RaShelle Workman:
Makes saving souls look easy.

            So there they are, my initial reactions.  I hope this sparks some curiosity as to exactly what these stories are about.  What?  Need more convincing?  Fine.  Since you asked so nicely, I will share my thoughts on this anthology as a whole.  Ahem…

            I have never been one to read anthologies; I think this is because I form an emotional attachment to the characters, and then BOOM they’re gone.  That said, this book is wonderful.  As in, curl up on the couch, grab a cup of tea, and daydream about these guys after reading all their stories.  All of the short stories are from the guys’ POV.  It’s a very refreshing change from the normal, female protagonist approach.  With all of these amazing guys, the biggest challenge is simply choosing your favorite crush!  One thing that I really love about In His Eyes is that I still understand and connect with the short stories, deleted scenes, and prequels that are associated with books that I haven’t read yet.  Each of the authors does an amazing job of tying me to the characters and, when needed, providing background information to help set up the stories.  All of these short stories are very well written and have a definite flow making them easy to read.

            Another quality that makes this book so amazing is its diversity.  All of these stories are YA fiction, but some of them are contemporary, some are paranormal, some are fantasy, a few are sci-fi, and I even classify one as historical.  With all of these different genres, there is  sure to be a perfect story for just about anyone’s taste. 

The cover:

            Well lets see: this cover is steamy.  Just look at the heart, it screams romance.  I really love how the guy and girl are looking at one another through the heart in the mirror as they are leaning in for a kiss. They don't even seem to be aware of a mirror between them.  So romantic.  I hope they both get that kiss!

Basically, I absolutely LOVE In His Eyes and recommend it to anyone who loves YA, yummy guys, mystery, and a whole lot of romance!

In His Eyes is FREE at Smashwords, and $0.99 at Amazon and Barnes&Noble - hopefully to go free there as well by the release date on Valentine's Day (TOMORROW!!!). Or you can add In His Eyes to your TBR list on Goodreads.

*For more information about The Indelibles, check out their blog, facebook page, or follow them on Twitter.

Sunday, February 12, 2012

Review: Whispering Evil

Title: Whispering Evil (Midnight Guardian Series: Book #2)
Author: Bryna Butler
I give this book 4.5 out of 5 hearts: Very Highly Recommended!

~This review is for Book # 2, I suggest you read my earlier review of Book #1: Of Sun and Moon BEFORE reading this one.  This review contains spoilers for Book #1. ~

Book Summary:

I found two different book summaries and can’t decide which one to post, so here are both of them!

“Keira faces her greatest challenge yet…her driving test.  She has a mogdoc ally, a hot new guardian mentor and is ready to take on a new ruler of the Mogdoc Empire.  Too bad the guardian elders won’t let her.  On the other hand, when has Keira ever asked for permission?”
“Keira Ryan has moved on.  It’s the start of her sophomore year at Valley View High School.  She's got a cute, new guardian mentor, an unlikely mogdoc ally, and she's dating her best friend.  Now, all she has to do is pass her driving test and figure out how to stop the new Empress and her reign of terror.

Will she survive it all or will she fall victim to the whispering evil that surrounds her?”

After reading Of Sun and Moon, its sequel, Whispering Evil, has some impressive shoes to fill, and I think it fills them nicely!  Keira starts this book completely happy: her best friend is now her boyfriend, she gets to see her charge, and, best of all, she’s old enough to get her drivers license.  The downside?  She is still the child of the prophesy (destined to sacrifice a human), her ex-boyfriend-turned-mogdoc keeps popping up to prove he’s not a villain, and her boyfriend starts to act really weird.  Great.  Just what she needs.

I really like Whispering Evil-- it is fast paced and fun to read.  I enjoy the twists and turns the plot takes and, even though a few times I’m ripping my hair out in frustration when a character does something I know is going to come back to bite them in the butt, I still enjoy, and will reread, this book.  One thing that I find odd is how my feelings towards Colby change.  In Of Sun and Moon, I just wanted Colby and Keira to be together, but in this book I start to feel that it just isn’t worth it at all.  Keira and William belong together, and it seems like all she and Colby are doing is being awkward and ruining their friendship!

Colby feels “off” in this book -- it’s like all of a sudden he just forgets how close he and Keira used to be.  Yeah, okay, she’s keeping secrets from him.  The strange thing is that previously, when he found out she’s a flipping TOOTHFAIRY, he had little-to-no problem accepting it, but NOW he’s just going to wig out on her?  True, it’s not exactly that simple, but that’s how it feels. 

With Keira in Of Sun and Moon, I had gotten used to her being tough and never letting things get to her…she stood her ground, and I really respected that about her character.  However, in Whispering Evil, she reacts emotionally to a few situations and that just strikes me as “off”.  I mean, her best friend (also known as her boyfriend) starts to act like a jerk, and she gets upset and leaves.  To me, I can see her yelling, refusing to move, or possibly slapping him, but to get upset and leave?  It doesn’t seem like Keira.  Maybe she is not willing to risk losing the friendship and that causes her to just let it go.  But, I really wish that she would stay and fight.

           Though some of the actions confused me, the character complexities that were shown in Of Sun and Moon are still present, as well as the same great writing style.  Butler continues to do a great job of showing AND telling creating another great story that is fun to read!  I really like where Whispering Evil ends.  It is in a good spot that leaves the direction of the next book wide open.  I cannot wait to see what happens with Will, Keira, and the mysterious prophecy that has everyone on edge!

The Cover:

           This cover is BEAUTIFUL.  The girl on the front, leaning back, makes the cover look bigger than it really is.  I really like how the girl is looking up at the wisps of green and just staring at them, as though she just can’t figure out what they want from her.  This artwork has a haunting feel to it that fits very well with the book’s mystery.

For more on Bryna Butler visit her website:
To buy Whispering Evil go here:
or here: Barnes and noble