Thursday, May 31, 2012

My Favorite Reads Giveaway Hop

I have compiled a list of my favorite reads for you to choose from for this fantastic giveaway, and I hope you like the choices!! This giveaway is international AS LONG AS The Book Depository ships to you.

Good Luck!!


a Rafflecopter giveaway
More Great Giveaways Here:

Tuesday, May 29, 2012

Weigh in Wednesday (#6)

waight-1
*I do ask that if you would like to participate please site me and my blog somewhere in the post.*

Todays topic:
Poetry Vs. Prose 

My Answer:  Personally I have never gotten into reading books that are in poem format, and I'm not really sure why.  I guess it might have to do with the language used.  In the books I have read like this the dialogue uses bigger language that takes longer for me to read.  So I would have to say that Prose would be my preferred form of reading.  But I would be willing to give poetry a try!

What about YOU? Do you prefer Poetry Vs. Prose ? 


Next weeks topic: Graphic Novel vs Traditional Novel

Please email me with any topics you would like to see here on WiW at Epiloguereview@yahoo.com I would really appreciate any ideas you guys have!!

 If you would like to grab my picture to use here it is:

waight-1




I AM SO SORRY FOR THE PROBLEM WITH THE PREVIOUS LINKY.  Due to an error on my part the last linkies are unavailable.  I have switched servers so hopefully that will not be a problem in the future!! Thanks for your patience with me :)

Angel Eyes Blog Tour Review




Title: Angel Eyes
Author: Shannon Dittemore

Book Summary:

“Once you’ve seen, you can’t unsee. Everything changes when you’ve looked at the world through . . .

ANGEL EYES

Brielle’s a ballerina who went to the city to chase her dreams and found tragedy instead. She’s come home to shabby little Stratus, Oregon, to live with her grief and her guilt . . . and the incredible, numbing cold she can’t seem to shake.

Jake’s the new guy at school. The boy next door with burning hands and an unbelievable gift that targets him for corruption.

Something more than fate has brought them together. An evil bigger than both of them lurks in the shadows nearby, hiding in plain sight. Two angels stand guard, unsure what’s going to happen. And a beauty brighter than Jake or Brielle has ever seen is calling them to join the battle in a realm where all human choices start.

A realm that only angels and demons—and Brielle—can perceive.”

Losing my best friend would completely devastate me.  Just thinking about such a tragedy makes me feel alone and depressed. Brielle is living that horror after losing her best friend and returning to her hometown in Oregon.  When Brielle meets Jack, a boy who warms her at a touch, she knows something in different about him… and she will not stop until she learns what it is…

Really, what would make a better target for the forces of darkness than an emotionally depressed, self-loathing teenage girl who has just lost her best friend? Not much.  That’s one of the things I understand and like right away, I understand why the “bad guys” are lurking around.  They see easy prey and they go for it, makes sense.  When the story first starts rolling it’s clear Brielle has some problems and that they revolve around her best friend’s death and guilt but the whole story is left unclear.  As the plot line, progresses the events become clearer and are slowly revealed.

When I meet Brielle, the depth of her emotions astounds me.  I really connect with her feelings and it even seems plausible that her depression could morph into the physical feeling of perpetual coldness. With all the details adding to the string of turbulent emotions it really gives them a 3D feel that grabs me and helps me connect.

Jake is a very interesting character, and at first I wasn’t sure I would like him.  Don’t get me wrong, Jake is sweet and completely devoted to Brielle but having the MC always feel cold and the love interest just happens to be able to warm her up didn’t sound all that original to me.  For this reason I didn’t have my hopes set too high for liking Jake.  Then I am introduced to him and he completely melts away all my doubts and worries.  If Brielle doesn’t claim him soon I sure will!

One thing that I noticed was that this book was very religiously centered, which is not normally a problem for me, but it went on to the point of TOO MUCH.  I had multiple occasions when I was tempted to skip pages on my Kindle because all the background information was convoluted and cramped into an area where it didn’t need to be.  Because of the heavy religious undertone this is a book I could see some people not enjoying.
 
The Cover:

           The girl, the forest, the halo, the title font… where do I even start? This cover comes together beautifully and the more I read the more elements from the cover tie into the story. The halo is introduced and more fully explained and the forest continues to be a place of mystery. The other thing I really though was awesome is the font used for the title. It reminds me of Zorro, which is just fantastic.

I give angel eyes 4 out of 5 hearts: Great Read!

For more on Shannon Dittemore visit her website here: http://shannondittemore.com

Book Blast: Betrayed

About the book: 
 

"Lil isn't just an average teenager. She's one of the Nephilim--the descendants of humans and angels--which gives her some serious psi skills and a mission for redemption. Just when Lil thinks she's found a balance between her normal life with human friends and her training to become a Guardian, she's warned that someone close to her will betray her. When the boy she loves starts acting strangely and one of her human friends acquires a supernatural ability, Lil begins to realize that someone is manipulating the people she loves... and won't stop until she's been lured to the dark side"



About the author:

"I grew up reading Nancy Drew and Hardy boys mysteries and fell in love with books

I enjoy good love stories, tingly mysteries and epic adventures. When I finished my college and decided to be a stay-at-home mother, I devoured books like they were going out of production, until reading just wasn't enough. So I started to write.

I've written picture books (unpublished), contemporary and romantic suspense (under the pen name E. B. Walters), and finally YA fantasy (as Ednah Walters).

AWAKENED (2010) is the prequel to the YA series about the Nephilim, The Guardian Legacy series. BETRAYED(book # 1) is now available wherever books are sold, HUNTED (book # 2) will be released in February 2013 andFORGOTTEN (later in 2013).

My adult contemporary with or without suspense is about a west coast Irish-American family series. I've published four Fitzgerald books: SLOW BURN (April 5th 2011), MINE UNTIL DAWN (June 29th 2011), KISS ME CRAZY (Sept 25th 2011) and DANGEROUS LOVE (Jan 29th 2012)

When I'm not writing, I do things with my family, five children and my darling husband of 18 years. I live in a picturesque valley in northern Utah, the setting for my YA series."

Giveaway:

Open to anyone who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent's permission. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, May 28, 2012

Happy Memorial Day!!

           
Today is the last Monday in May and as such, it is Memorial Day.  Memorial day is a day to stop and remember all the men and women who have fought and died while serving in the Armed Forces.  Most of us can look back and identify someone in our family who has died fighting for this country.  Many families use this day off school and work to visit their families and spend time with loved ones, while others would rather spend a quiet day at home.  My immediate family usually gets together and we spend the weekend enjoying each other’s company.  Sometimes we have a cookout and have our neighbors over, while other times we go out to eat (though it's normally really crowded!!).  

If you traveled to visit your family for this special weekend I wish you a safe journey home.  I hope each of you has a wonderful day and that we all take some time to remember the true reason for this very special holiday!

What do YOU do for Memorial Day Weekend?

Saturday, May 26, 2012

Deals and Steals (ebooks under $5!)

Save a little cash while reading some great books!! Hurry.. all these deals won't last long!! 

Under $5
   

Under $4
   

Under $3

Thursday, May 24, 2012

Review: Obsidian


Title: Obsidian
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Book Summary:

“Starting over sucks.
When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I'd pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring.... until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes.  Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating.  Arrogant.  Stab-worthy.  We do not get along.  At all.  But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something...unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me.  Alien.  Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon's touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip.  The only way I'm getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don't kill him first, that is.”

Moving is always hard, but moving right before your senior year?  That just sucks.  Katy moves with her mom to West Virginia.  Things seem pretty boring until she sees her hot new neighbor, too bad he acts like a jerk!  Luckily, his sister is super sweet and willing to risk her brother’s wrath to befriend Katy.  As events unfold, Katy learns her mysterious new neighbors’ deepest secret… they are aliens, and the problems are only just starting.

It’s not so much the premise of Obsidian that attracts my interest.  No, it’s the raving reviews, comments from friends, and all out fanfare surrounding Armentrout’s work, and the Lutz novels in particular, that catches my attention.  With all of the excitement buzzing around Obsidian, I know that I cannot pass this book by without reading it!  So that’s what initially hooks me… and then I actually read the premise.  I really like the summary for the book; it is intriguing and completely captures my attention! 

When I first start reading the book, I am really happy that Katy has a book blog because from that point on in the rest of the story I just picture her as me.  Throughout the story, I read about a lot of memes that I already know of and participate in -- which is a really cool experience, almost like when someone writes about my hometown.  I know everything about it so I know just where that shopping mall is that they’re talking about, and it deepens my connection to that story.  So, it is like that for me when I “overhear” Katy talking about posting reviews, juggling time, and that euphoric feeling when the mail arrives.  Having that connection with Katy really makes the story evolve into something extra special.

When Katy first meets her new neighbors, it’s very interesting.  I am very disappointed though when she first meets Daemon, the eldest of her two neighbors.  She acts like a love struck idiot, and it diminishes her character for me.  In the two minutes it takes to read the scene, she’s just staring and awkward and girly… which is not the impression that I have of her up to this point.  Fortunately, the story quickly rights itself when she stands up for herself, doesn’t let Daemon push her around or intimidate her and just starts acting like the type of person that I think she is. 

Daemon is obviously smoldering, mysterious, and a complete prick.  He is completely unique, and I can’t figure him out.  In the beginning, he’s all over the place: one minute he’s nice, and then he’s not.  He runs very hot and cold.  This makes the story intriguing because I am constantly thinking:

“You and Katy should be together.  And,I want you together.  But, I don’t know how that is ever going to happen because you’re both jerks to each other.”

 So, this creates a very interesting plotline for me to try to figure out, and it’s a HUGE page turner.

             I really like how Armentrout establishes the relationships and not just with Katy and Daemon.  Most of the relationship-building is between friends and family with Katy working to balance everything so it fits.  I like the interaction between Katy and Daemon’s twin sister, Dee.  It’s obvious they have a close relationship, and Katy doesn’t let anyone else deter that relationship.  When Daemon tries to warn her off, her whole attitude morphs into a “screw you buddy, NOT happening” stance.  Now I like her even more!  Katy also makes other friends who I encounter through out the story.  I’m glad that I don’t meet them and then never hear about them again.  They are a part of her life, and I can clearly see that. 

Overall I think Obsidian is fantastic, and the story is a decently paced.  The relationship aspect is hard to figure out, and I still don’t know where it’s going.  It’s definitely progressing, but I don’t know to what end.  The ending is good, but definitely a cliffhanger(which is bad.)  But, it’s not an insta-love book )(which is good.)  Overall, I just can’t wait for book two!

The Cover.

             I really like this cover!  I heard that this is not the original cover and that the first one was “off”, but I like this one.  I think the girl not looking forward makes it more dramatic and intense!  This cover is a winner. 

I give Obsidian 5 out of 5 hearts: I LOVED it!!

Buy your copy here:
 
paperback                  eBook

Book Blast: Masters of the Veil, Giveaway and Guest Post




Life can't get much better for Sam Lock. Popular, good-looking, and with a future as a professional football player. every guy at Stanton High School wishes he were Sam. That is, until his championship football game, when Sam accidentally links with an ancient source of energy known as the Veil and reveals his potential to become a powerful sorcerer. Sam is whisked off to Atlas Crown, a community of sorcerers who utilize the Veil as a part of everyday life. Once there, he trains beside a mute boy who speaks through music, an eternal sage who's the eyes and ears of the Veil, and a beautiful girl who's pretty sure Sam's an idiot. As it becomes clear Sam's meant for power magic-the most feared and misunderstood form of sorcery-people beyond Atlas Crown learn of his dangerous potential. An exiled group of power sorcerers are eager to recruit Sam, believing that he is destined to help them achieve their long-held goal. If they succeed, they could bring about the downfall of not only Atlas Crown. but all humankind.





Book Trailer



PRAISE:


"This Book was brilliant, creative, and completely magical. If you want an amazing book to read in 2012, I would suggest you go to the bookstore and pick up a copy of Masters of the Veil."
~Julia @Inkbitten


"I loved this book. I could list all the reasons, but there is one piece of praise I think sums up the book best. My son grabbed it as soon as I was finished reading it and hasn't put it down since. Dan Cohen has a winner with this series."
~Author Michelle Pickett


"A funny, imaginative, and delightful read!"
~Author Kate Kaynak

LINKS:

BOOK TRAILER
BLOG
GOODREADS
FACEBOOK
AMAZON LINK
BN LINK
TWITTER


Author Daniel A. Cohen
Daniel A. Cohen was just your average business student. Microeconomics, finance, marketing… you name it, he had to do a PowerPoint presentation on it. One dark and stormy night, he was bitten by the radioactive realization that memorizing business jargon could possibly be the most boring activity known to man.

After gaining eagle-eye vision, abs that could grate cheese, and a talent for imagining things (including his cheese-grating abs), he wrote his first novel and began his epic battle against the formidable business jargon. He continues to fight the good fight by playing saxophone and writing YA fantasy, forever hoping his Veil trilogy will help inspire others to join his cause.
Giveaway Details
Author Daniel Cohen is offering one lucky person a $100 Amazon.com Gift Card.
Last day to enter is May 31st

Open to anyone who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent's permission. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. 

Giveaway:

Tuesday, May 22, 2012

Weigh In Wednesday (#5)

waight-1
*I do ask that if you would like to participate please site me and my blog somewhere in the post.*

Todays topic:
Novellas Vs. Anthologies

My Answer:  Personally I have never gotten into short stories, I usually think they feel rushed or left unfinished.  That said this is a hard choice for me!  I would probably choose Anthologies because at least if I like the story matter I have a full book of the genre I like! :)  In truth I haven't really read a whole lot of this type of book so maybe I secretly love novellas and anthologies, the last anthology I read was really good... so maybe I need to give more a try!

What about YOU? Do you prefer Novellas or Anthologies? 


Next weeks topic: Poetry Vs. Prose 


Please email me with any topics you would like to see here on WiW at Epiloguereview@yahoo.com I would really appreciate any ideas you guys have!!

 If you would like to grab my picture to use here it is:

waight-1



TALLIS DREAMCAST and Giveaway


A warning from M. C. Rae before you see her chosen cast:

"I don’t watch very many movies or very much TV.

What I do watch tends to be non-mainstream, so…"


 
TALLIS – Amy Jackson (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amy_Jackson)         
Despite the name that may make Ms. Jackson sound like your next door neighbor, unless you’re into Bollywood, you probably haven’t seen her in anything. Ms. Jackson has that subtle beauty and exotic look that I envision Tallis having, though we’d need to get her some contacts to have Tallis’s eyes that are “as green as the plains of Kêrsium.”

 


TARAMEEN - Jean-Luc Bilodeau (http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1700638/)
Honestly, I had to go out on a limb on this one. I’m not familiar with this actor, but he’s got a look on his face that blends both Tarameen’s desire to learn, and his utter conviction in that which he knows to be true.


 


SHAHLAMIN – Nestor Carbonell (http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0004801/)
And just as hard as it was for me to pick out my Tarameen, so was it that easy to pick out my Shahlamin, the villain of my mythical world. Nestor has a look that you know is capable of profound, but brilliant evil, and oh, he’s going to look so good being bad. I first became familiar with him on Lost, and have scouted him out in other works since.


  
JUNO – Dakota Fanning (http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0266824/)
Juno is petite, blithe, and elegant. Everything I’ve seen Ms. Fanning in tells me she’d fill this perfectly. Juno has an ethereal spirit which competes with the air for lightness, but below is a storm brewing. Ms. Fanning can handle the spectrum. She’d be a supreme Juno.







About M.C. Rae:

 
M.C. Rae (aka Killian McRae) is a cross-genre author whose works include elements of history, fantasy, science fiction, and romance- sometimes all in the same novel. She hails from the midwest but currently makes her home in Northern California. She is  a devout student of history,a podcaster, an amateur graphics and web designer, a coffee enthusiast, and has an unhealthy obsession with world music.
 



Thanks so much for this awesome guest post M.C.!! 

Giveaway is open internationally!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, May 19, 2012

Review: Taste


Title: Taste
Author: Kate Evangelista

Book Summary:

“At Barinkoff Academy, there's only one rule: no students on campus after curfew.  Phoenix McKay soon finds out why when she is left behind at sunset.  A group calling themselves night students threaten to taste her flesh until she is saved by a mysterious, alluring boy.  With his pale skin, dark eyes, and mesmerizing voice, Demitri is both irresistible and impenetrable.  He warns her to stay away from his dangerous world of flesh eaters.  Unfortunately, the gorgeous and playful Luka has other plans.

When Phoenix is caught between her physical and her emotional attraction, she becomes the keeper of a deadly secret that will rock the foundations of an ancient civilization living beneath Barinkoff Academy.  Phoenix doesn’t realize until it is too late that the closer she gets to both Demitri and Luka the more she is plunging them all into a centuries old feud.”

Phoenix McKay has a problem.  When Phoenix accidentally falls asleep in the library, she awakens knowing that she will be expelled.  What she doesn’t know is that being expelled is the least of her mounting problems…  As Phoenix searches for a way to get back to her dorm, she discovers other students milling about.  In the conversation that follows, she realizes that these are not fellow classmates; these are the Night Students, and they are hiding a terrible secret…

When I first hear of Taste, I am instantly enchanted.  I absolutely fall in love with the cover, and the book summary grabs my attention and refuses to let go!  I start reading everything about the book that I can find: excerpts, the author’s blog, anything that might give me more information about this book.  The only thing that worries me about Taste is that the premise sounds like a love triangle set up, of which I am NOT a fan!  I am also excited because I have never read a book about "flesh eaters" before.

I love how I can instantly connect with Phoenix.  She is curious and takes orders from nobody, both traits that get her into some serious trouble!  She isn’t naïve, which is good, but she does take a while to catch on to events surrounding her.  Maybe it’s shock or denial, but either way I really like that she doesn’t just magically understand what’s happening.  People actually have to explain it to her, which means they also explain it to me.

Soon after I start reading Taste, it becomes clear that two guys are going to be at the center of this book: Demitri and Luka.  Dimitri is tall, dark, and brooding while Luka is straightforward, approachable, and genuine.  I completely understand the pull toward both of them… at least I’ll get one of them… right??

Taste is an intriguing tale that constantly surprises me.  Many of the twists and turns are unpredictable and enjoyable.  I definitely feel like Evangelista took the time to add depth to the characters; I get a real sense of who they are as people and why they act the way they do.  The only relationship that I really struggle with is between Phoenix and her best friend.  I can’t put my finger on it, but it seems unrealistic.  Luckily, most of the book doesn’t center on their relationship.

The Cover:

Overall this cover can be described in three words: alluring, dramatic, and mysterious.  The air of mystery comes into play when I take in the background and the ledge-looking-thing the girl is sitting against.  Instantly this inspires questions that I know I will have to read the book to answer.  The girl on the cover is the picture of drama.  The tilt of her head, the straightness in her spine, the thunderclouds in the background, and of course her look of devastation.  All these details add up to create a fantastic cover!

I give Taste 5 out of 5 hearts: I LOVED IT!

You can learn more about Kate Evangelista on her website here: http://www.kateevangelista.com/

You can buy the book here:
 
Paperback              ebook

Thursday, May 17, 2012

Love in Bloom Giveaway Hop


           Thanks for stopping by!  Here on Epilogue I am celebrating reaching 900 followers with this fantastic  giveaway hop. My big 1000 giveaway is soon to come so stay tuned!!  Which means not only am I giving you a chance to win here, I am also showing you 100+ other giveaways you can go enter to win.  Sound awesome? Of course it does!

           What I’m offering for this giveaway is your choice of one of the fantastic books listed below.  Don’t like my books?  Well, fine.  If you DON’T like any of these books I will allow you to choose one book up to $15 from the Book Depository. This giveaway IS open internationally AS LONG AS the Book Depository ships to you for free. Don’t know if you qualify?
Check here:  Book Depository

So lets move on to what you could win!
  
Your choice of one of these great books: 

OR

Feature and Follow Friday (#9)

 
Hosted by the lovely ladies Parajunkee and Allison Can Read

Q: Summer Break is upon us! What would be the perfect vacation spot for you to catch up on your reading & relax?

 

In Greece...by the beach... in the shade...with a really hot guy!! ;)

Tuesday, May 15, 2012

Weight in Wednesday (#4)

waight-1
*I do ask that if you would like to participate please site me and my blog somewhere in the post.*

Todays topic:
Love Triangles Vs. Insta-love
My Answer:  Personally I dislike both! If the main characters fall in love instantly I don't have enough time to connect with them and it seems very unrealistic. On the flip side if there are more than one love interest I usually end up frustrated that one of them in let out to dry!  Really it's a no win situation.  The only saving grace of love triangles is there is always a guy left over for me ;).  So my final answer is Love Triangles beat out Insta-love!

What about YOU? Do you prefer Love Triangles or Insta-love? 


Next weeks topic: Novellas Vs. Anthologies


Please email me with any topics you would like to see here on WiW at Epiloguereview@yahoo.com I would really appreciate any ideas you guys have!!

 If you would like to grab my picture to use here it is:

waight-1




Swipe Review and Giveaway



Title: Swipe
Author: Evan Angler

Book Summary:

“Everyone gets the Mark.  It gives all the benefits of citizenship.  Yet if getting the Mark is such a good thing, then why does it feel so wrong?

Set in a future North America that is struggling to recover after famine and global war, Swipe follows the lives of three kids caught in the middle of a conflict they didn’t even know existed.  United under a charismatic leader, every citizen of the American Union is required to get the Mark on their 13th birthday in order to gain the benefits of citizenship.

The Mark is a tattoo that must be swiped by special scanners for everything from employment to transportation to shopping.  It’s almost Logan Langly’s 13th birthday and he knows he should be excited about getting the Mark, but he hasn’t been able to shake the feeling he’s being watched. Not since his sister went to get her Mark five years ago . . . and never came back.

When Logan and his friends discover the truth behind the Mark, will they ever be able to go back to being normal teenagers? Find out in the first book of this exciting series that is Left Behind meets Matched for middle-grade readers.”

Logan Langly has been paranoid that he is being followed and watched ever since his sister was killed a few years ago when she went to get her Mark.  His paranoia starts to escalate as the time approaches for him to get his own Mark.  When Logan discovers that he might not be as paranoid as everyone thinks, he must soon learn how to juggle all of the new challenges in his life.  First, he must try to survive 8th grade.  Then, throw in dealing with a jealous best friend, a mysterious, adventurous new girl and some people out to get him, and suddenly Swipe becomes a fast-paced action-packed story!

The premise for this book grips me from the first paragraph.  I really like books that deal with undiscovered elements and possible futuristic things, and Swipe definitely sounds like my type of book.  The whole idea of a “Mark” being used to allow people to do things, much like licenses and social security numbers today, is a fascinating concept.  I really like how dependent people are on these Marks because it seems completely believable… just look at how dependant we are on electronics today! 

The first thing I notice when I start reading Swipe is that the story changes perspective… a lot.  That’s not a big problem, and it is not poorly written or anything.  However, varying points of view are not usually as easy for me to read – taking the time to figure out whom we are jumping to slows me down.  After I get into the rhythm of the book, I really sit back and enjoy myself!  Swipe is very action filled, and I really think the ideas are quite evolved and the plot line  well thought out.  I am completely blown away with the amount of unique plot twists that Angler incorporated.

Logan is one of the biggest connections I have with Swipe.  I start out seeing this scrawny little kid who really has no idea what he’s doing.  This kid is scared of his own shadow, the wind, even the monsters under his bed.  To watch THAT kid grow into an independent person who willingly does things that might put himself in danger for the people he cares about is HUGE.  I really grow to care about Logan and respect his decisions… even if I simultaneously lose almost all of my respect for his parents.

I do think Swipe would have been improved by spending a little more time on family relations.  With the exception of Logan’s dad in the beginning and Heather’s (one of Logan’s friends) mom, all of the parents are flat and completely uncaring.  I almost feel like they are intentionally written as uncaring jerks so that they would be out of the picture for the kids to go do stuff.  I personally think it would have added much more to the story if there were adults that the kids could trust and confide in and who could love and be there for them!

Overall this is a really great read that I thoroughly enjoy and recommend, especially for middle school and high school students!  I cannot wait for book two, Sneak.

The Cover:

When I first see the cover, I have NO idea what the book cab possibly be about that would match this cover at all.  Then, I read the premise and it makes sense.  I think the black and red is appropriately dramatic, and it gives it a cool edgy feel! 

I give Swipe 4 out of 5 hearts: Great Book!
This giveaway is open to the US and Canada only!
 a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, May 12, 2012

Prom and Books.

This week has been a very busy week for me.  Why?  Prom Preparation.  Maybe you really don't care about things like school dances, but for me they are a fun way to bond, either with friends or a date. I mean who doesn't want to feel beautiful and happy and get a picture that looks like this: