Thursday, June 28, 2012

Review: Awakening


Title: Awakening
Author: Karice Bolton

Book Summary:

"Alone in snowy, remote Whistler village, Ana tries to build a new life since losing her parents. With a cozy condo, a sweet-faced bulldog and an evening job to leave the days free for the slopes, life slips into a great routine. If only she could shake the guilt for not remembering anything about her parents and banish the night terrors that haunt her every dream.

On a whim, Ana goes out with Athen, a guy she's just met in the Grizzly Pub... The only problem is that she feels like she already knows him.

Within 48 hours of meeting Athen and his family, Ana's world implodes. She falls for Athen quickly and before she knows it, a past life begins to resurface. As thrilling as the revelations appear at first, she fights against the chilling information that Athen is from the underworld. Soon she begins to struggle as her own supernatural gifts are slowly unveiled, and she realizes that the nightmares she's been having might be premonitions and not dreams at all.
It is up to Ana to decipher between fact and fiction before it is too late, and her new love, Athen, follows in her same fate - one that is lost between two worlds."


            One of the first things that sticks out to me when I read the premise is how fast the timeline in the book must move... 48 hours is NOT a lot of time!!  I am a little concerned about how fast it \ her relationship with Athen and family seems to develops and I hope it seems plausible.  It is interesting that Ana has been having night terrors and cannot remember anything about her parents... sounds like a mystery to me. 

            Ana's life is pretty uncomplicated until she meets Athen and his mysterious, alluring family.  Ever since that fated meeting everything she knows will change... and FAST.  For reasons unknown to her Ana knows that she can trust them all with her life and instantly feels safe in their presence.  Her fears are put to rest and they always know how to sooth her ruffled feathers.  In fact they all start to seem a little too familiar and now Ana wants answers... but is she prepared for the trouble the answers will bring?

            I really liked Ana's character from the beginning.  She seemed normal enough with just the right amount of tragedy and fear to make you want something good to happen for her, and it does.  I will admit I really didn't like the whole: "Oh, I'm going to fall all over myself and drool all over everyone because we all have this insane connection" thing that seemed to be going on.  I get it They know each other from a past life but really? WHY does she have to turn into a pile of mush?  After Ana meets Athen and his family she starts to become a bad employee and, at the very beginning, admits to herself that she starts to neglect her friend and her dog.  I was really glad she noticed even if she didn't do a whole lot to change it. 

            I think the background story on the the connection between Athen, his family and Ana is really creative and well thought out.  I did get a little confused at times about the details but by the end i had a really good grasp on the concepts.  Something that annoyed me while reading was how much I knew going into the story... I found that the premise given gave away many things that the story set up as "mysteries" so those things seemed pretty anticlimactic.

            Overall I thought Awakening had a really unique plotline and it was easy enough to follow along with the explanations.  I found the insta-love to be a bit overbearing but the rest of the interactions between Ana and Athen were sweet and completely heartwarming!  The end of the book does leave me clamoring for book two because really you CAN NOT just leave it like that.  I will definitely pick up book two and continue the series...hopefully they got all the inst love gooeyness completely out of their systems by now!

The Cover

            I love the font the title is written in, it's really beautiful!  The girl's dress is simply gorgeous and I love the wings... but it gives the book a more "fairy" vibe which is NOT accurate.  I do like how the forest in front of the girl smudges out so it looks more mysterious! 

I give Awakened 3 out of 5 hearts: Worth Reading!

Tuesday, June 26, 2012

Weigh in Wednesday (#10)

waight-1


*I do ask that if you would like to participate please site me and my blog somewhere in the post.*


Todays topic:
reading one book at a time vs. reading multiple books at a time


My Answer:  If I am going to spend my time reading (which actually happens quite often) I'm going to give the book my sole attention. Why would I want to hurt the poor books feelings?  Besides  it just gets too confusing for me to try juggling three books at the same time.  I did try it once and when I got about halfway through all of them they seemed to realize that I was seeing other books and they all conspired to become in-depth and confusing.  It gave me a headache and put me in my place ;)  I realized from then on that it really helps me connect better to each story if that's the only one I focus on, and so that's what I do.  The only exception to this rule is when I have a book assigned to me for school. 

What about YOU? Do you prefer  reading one book at a time or reading multiple books at a time? 


Next weeks topic: fairytale retelling vs. the original fairyrale

Please email me with any topics you would like to see here on WiW at Epiloguereview@yahoo.com I would really appreciate any ideas you guys have!!

 If you would like to grab my picture to use here it is:


waight-1

Review: Slack Tide


Title: Slack Tide
Author: Vanessa Barger

Book Summary:

“At a time when most girls are worried about prom dresses, Lorelei Stamper is worried about losing her skin -- literally. Receiving a sealskin from her Aunt, her world is changed. Not only is she a selkie, but she holds the key to breaking a curse affecting all selkie.

Now monsters are stalking her, forcing her to decide if she will end the curse before she even really understands what’s happening. When Declan, one of two bodyguards sent to protect her, wakes her sleeping heart, she must try to balance love, surviving her senior year, and deciding whether she wants to be human or not. No matter what she chooses, the fact remains that breaking the curse demands blood. Hers.”

            Lorelei Stamper is ecstatic to receive a gift from her beloved aunt, but is confused when she pulls out a sealskin.  Confused and annoyed at her mothers intense, negative reaction to the admittedly bizarre present Lorelei tries to confront her about it.  Her mom remains tight-lipped and gets ever more controlling and overprotective.  As heated words are exchanged at home, Lorelei must figure out senior year, her feelings for Declan, and break an ancient curse that threatens everyone…

            I really, really like mythology and the ocean so a story about merpeople, selkies, gorgons, anything like that, is usually enjoyable for me.  When I read the summary for Slack Tide I was fascinated by the incorporation of selkies, a prophecy, and a teenage girl.  It just sounds so intriguing and I cannot wait to figure it out! I am also looking forward to the monsters stalking her, it seems to me that stories start off more interesting when the action starts while the MC is still adjusting!

            I really like Lorelei, she comes across as a very respectful individual but still doesn’t take crap from anyone.  I wasn’t very fond of her initial cold and aloof attitude towards Declan, even though she had his best interests at heart.  I loved watching her come out of her shell and realize that some people really DO think she’s worth fighting for… if she’ll let them.  It was obviously a hard thing for her to comprehend and it helped me empathize with her. Throughout Slack Tide she proved herself to be a strong, selfless individual who lets her passion for those she cares about guide her decisions.

            Declan is a WONDERFUL character and I cannot imagine anyone better for Lorelei.  He is kind and it’s obvious that he cares deeply for her.  I do have a problem with a few of his tactics and some of his male arrogance but he (slowly) overcomes those faults and learns from his mistakes.  I loved watching him grow and develop as a character! 

            The other thing I absolutely love about Slack Tide is the friendships that are shown.  I LOVE how Lorelei’s best friend, reacts to all the problems going on at Lorelei’s house… it’s just so genuine.  Her best friend is her family, and that's how I have always thought it should be.  Throughout the story frequent jokes and serious discussions show how close the two really are, and it makes the whole scary prophecy aka: OMG someone is going to DIE thing, seem a little less frightening.  

            The Cover

            The cover does a great job of incorporating the romance and the water that take place in Slack Tide.I love how it incorporates the couple, beautiful design work around the title and then continues down to the ocean. It is really quite genius!

I give Slack Tide 4.5 out of 5 hearts: Very Highly Recommended!

Monday, June 25, 2012

Oh, I haven't forgotten...

            Hey guys, I know I hit the 1000 follower mark a few weeks ago and I cannot tell you how overjoyed I am that so many people share my love of books!  If I could give each and every one of you a huge hug I would.  BUT since I think that might come off a tad bit creepy I am just going to settle for throwing fake confetti in the air and flinging cyber hugs towards my computer.  Yeah, you're really lucky you can't see how silly I just looked doing that!

Anyways, I just wanted to put your fears to rest: I DO have a HUGE giveaway planned for you all.  It should be up and running soon, I'm just waiting on a few more goodies from some awesome authors who are helping to make this giveaway AMAZING. 

            Since it has taken a bit longer than expected I'll give you a little idea of whats in store for you guys... Books, ebooks, and Swag (including but not limited to: bookmarks, bracelets, magnets, buttons, bookplates, notebooks, and even a pair of pajamas!!)  Sounds fantastic right??

            The giveaway will be in two parts, part one will be for US only and part two will be for International only.  That way all of you lovely people can have a chance to win!  So what say you, are you excited?!? What would YOU be most interested in winning?

~Lauren

Friday, June 22, 2012

Review: Thoughtless


Title: Thoughtless
Author: Jacqueline Gardner

Book Summary:

“When Bridget finds a dead cheerleader in the janitor’s closet, she becomes the killer’s next target. High school just got worse. It’s bad enough that she can hear the shocking truths that pass through her classmate’s heads. Now she has to worry about staying alive, and all clues point to the one person whose thoughts she can’t read - her boyfriend Terrence. Someone is taunting her, threatening to expose her secret. And when Bridget tries to single out her blackmailer, she’s nearly beaten to death by a mind controlled minion with fiery eyes.

But when Bridget finally comes face-to-face with the killer, suddenly a horde of brainwashed students programmed to destroy her life doesn’t seem so bad.”

Bridget has always been a little different, her normal routine? Get up, go to school, ignore the disgusting thoughts of the high school boys and judgmental thoughts of the girls, and go home.  All the while she has to make sure to keep her abnormal ability a secret and staying out of the spotlight is a good way to start.  Until she finds the body of a cheerleader in the janitor’s closet.  Bridget’s world is about to get a whole lot more complicated.

When I first read the premise for Thoughtless I wasn’t sure what to think… I was a little worried it would be to dark and disturbing for my tastes—I mean it DOES start off with an immediate death—but then I decided it would be worth it!  The summary sounds interesting and I think it will be an enjoyable, fast read.

Thoughtless started great, I was excited for the characters and Bridget’s ability, and it looked like it was going to be a fantastic thriller/mystery/romance.  Than quite a few things happened.  First Bridget throws caution to the wind and goes gaga over this new guy, she immediately can’t get enough of him and blows off other people to be with him.  NOT the way I thought her character would act, AT ALL. So that was pretty disappointing.  Then she starts being a jerk to people who are just trying to help her, she says some really cruel things and, though she apologizes and regrets her words, it makes me think less of her.  With those two things aside her character seems like an average person who has ups and downs and comes across as a very realistic person who I might see walking in the halls of my school!

The storyline itself was really predictable for me, and there weren’t a whole lot of twists that I saw didn’t coming.  That doesn’t mean that they would be that way for everyone, but for me that’s what happened. I did like the whole mind control twist that was thrown in, it made the scenes when she is scared for her life (which she really should be) much more dramatic and believable… well if you discount the fact that mind control isn’t real. ;)

Though I had some problems with Thoughtless it really is a good, fast read and I enjoyed it!  Though it did end with a cliffhanger and I didn’t feel that the ending resolved much I am hoping that’s due to book two and that the answers lie there. I would definitely pick up book two to read because it was a entertaining, quick read… and the end leaves me with some SERIOUS questions!  I would recommend reading Thoughtless if you want something fast, action filled, and full of paranormal abilities!

The Cover:

I like how the girl on the cover has shocking white hair… it makes all the other colors on the cover really pop.  I also like how the house in the background has a older look.  When you combine it with the sliver of a moon it gives the cover a undertone of creepy!

I give Thoughtless 3 out of 5 hearts: Worth Reading.


Unsure if Thoughtless is the book for you? Right now you can get the eBook free!  Go ahead, try it and let me know what YOU think!




Tuesday, June 19, 2012

Weigh in Wednesday (#9)

waight-1


*I do ask that if you would like to participate please site me and my blog somewhere in the post.*


Todays topic:
Action/Adventure vs. Romance (if the story only has one)


My Answer:  If a book is only going to have one I want it to have action or adventure.... If a book just has romance the plot won't be very detailed and I find  my mind drifting away from the book.  Action holds my attention with its fast paced nature while adventure piques my curiosity! Ideally a book would have both traits but if not Action/Adventure is the way to go for me.  :)



What about YOU? Do you prefer Action/Adventure or Romance (if the story only has one)? 


Next weeks topic: Reading one book at a time vs. Reading multiple books at a time


Please email me with any topics you would like to see here on WiW at Epiloguereview@yahoo.com I would really appreciate any ideas you guys have!!

 If you would like to grab my picture to use here it is:


waight-1



Review + Giveaway: Caterpillar (Blog Tour)


Review:

Title: Caterpillar
Author: Kate Oliver

Book Summary:

“In a small college town in northern California, a lonely young man is working himself to the bone to solve a sixty-year-old problem ... a stranger with a will of iron and eyes the color of ice is searching for someone he can't identify ... and a girl who loves plants is about to grow roots of her own.

When Cara Gallagher's parents are transferred overseas again, she's off to spend her senior year of high school living with her sister, a graduate student at the famed McNair University. Cara, a girl with a passion for science and an indifference to people, hopes this move will be her first step in claiming the independence she craves. Cara has her future planned down to the letter: her college, her major, her career.

Then she saves Will Mallory's life, and both of their futures are completely rewritten.

The last years of Will's life have been spent shifting from one identity to the next, dodging the FBI, and trying desperately to find a way home. But Will's home is forty-four light years away, and to reach it he'll have to outwit the man who's hunting him--and leave behind the only love he's ever known.”

Cara’s family life really sucks.  Her parents are moving over seas at the beginning of her senior year and Cara will be living with her sister.  Living with her sister definitely has its ups and downs, the ups—living in the same house as her best friend.  The downside is that her best friend seems a little overprotective now.  When Cara goes for a drive to explore the beach near her new home she comes across a troublesome sight, a boy who looks like he’s trying to get himself skewered on the jagged rocks below.  As Cara decides to intervene she unknowingly instigates a bond that neither of them could have ever imagined…

Okay the premise was pretty captivating, I mean the GIRL saves the GUY.  Major brownie points right there!  I am really interested to read this because of the alien theme… I haven’t read very many YA alien books but I really enjoyed the ones I have read.  I am a little worried because when I read books like this there’s always that fear that the two MCs will be so different that it can’t work… I do NOT want that to happen!!

            From the very first chapter I was hooked, it just really fell into place.  I didn’t ever find myself feeling like it was to fast of a pace—it felt really comfortable.  It was incredible how at each turn I would still be surprised with some detail of the plotline, and towards the end I kept thinking;

“Poor Cara, she really can’t catch a break!”

            One of the things that I was really happy with was the relationship between Cara and Will.  First off, I LOVED that she rescued him and that he seemed very dependant on her emotionally… it was really touching but still managed not to feel creepy and overbearing.  The other thing about their relationship that was well done was how it evolved: it was insta-attraction not insta-omgIamsofreakinginlovewithyou.  They start off as friends and it’s really nice to see the evolution of their feelings and thoughts, it helps them develop as characters.

            From the very beginning it was clear to me that Cara was a soft spoken individual who loves to create magic.  Her soft-spoken nature is revealed immediately along with her willingness to let things go for the sake of now causing a scene.  The love of magic is something that I saw when she got back to her sister’s house, Cara loves gardening.  She gets such a great feeling from knowing that something comes from plain old brown dirt.  Beautiful things, horrifying things, unexpected things… all you really have to do is use your imagination!  I think in part her deep connection with gardening has to do with the fact that she looks at herself as simple, and unimpressive—just like the dirt she so dearly loves.

Cara really needs to find a four-leaf clover or something because the WORST things keep popping up.  First there are HORRIBLE people at school, then you get to tack on family problems, senior year school/college prep, a new (ALIEN) boyfriend, AND oh by the way the FBI are chasing them.  How’s that for normal? 

The Cover:

I really like the moth on the girls hand… it really ties in the caterpillar/biology themes that are introduced throughout the story.  The green in the dress is really beautiful against the night sky and I really like the soft glow that seems to encompass the girl.  This cover just seems to have a soothing effect and I really like it!

I give Caterpillar 4.5 out of 5 hearts: Very Highly Recommended!

Giveaway: 
(Open Internationally)
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, June 18, 2012

Lets Talk: Cliffhangers. How far is too far?


“Let’s Talk” is something I’ve started here on Epilogue.  It’s basically a time where I can have a heart to heart with all of you awesome people.  Hopefully it’ll be a time where we can interact and share are thoughts and feelings!


            Let’s talk about books, or rather, the endings of books… in particular cliffhangers.  I don’t know about you, but nothing gets me angrier than a book ending on a HUGE CLIFFHANGER, knowing that I have to wait another year for the next book.  Don’t get me wrong; a little suspense can be a good thing!!  I enjoy having that tug to pick up the follow-on book and find out what will happen next, but recently the endings have been too drastic and irritating.

             For a long time, I wouldn’t pick up any book that was part of a series because I would always get annoyed with them, especially if there was a huge number of books in said series.  Nothing aggravates me more than getting really involved in a book, finishing it, and by the time the next book is out I have to reread the entire series again to remember the intricate plot details!  Arghh.  So infuriating.  Because of my intense dislike of series in the past, I have always had a fond spot for standalone novels… though they seem to be an endangered species now.  I like being able to read a complete story at once and feel like the conflict is resolved.  That’s why I eventually accepted series into my reading list because some of them resolve the main conflict and then I get to experience the characters I love all over again.  Over time, I began reading all types of book series (both cliffhanger ridden and standalone stories.), and I really don’t regret it… I was able to read many fantastic books because I was open to them.  I just wish some didn’t end abruptly in the middle of a thought and leave me feeling that something’s missing.

             So, to sum up my ramblings, a small cliffhanger is FINE.  It entices me to want the next book: I get it.  But, when it’s taken too far and makes it feel like the whole story is leading up to nothing, it gets old and annoying.  Basically, it can’t be overdone (for me to like how it ends) and don’t worry about me picking up the next book… if it’s well done and I feel attached to the characters, I WILL be picking up the rest of the series.  If it’s not, then it won’t matter to me if it ends on a huge cliffhanger.

What about you?  Do you think cliffhangers have their merits?  How far is too far?

Friday, June 15, 2012

Review: Angel Burn


Title: Angel Burn
Author: L.A. Weatherly

Book Summary:

They're out for your soul.
And they don't have heaven in mind...

Willow knows she's different from other girls, and not just because she loves tinkering with cars.  Willow has a gift.  She can look into the future and know people's dreams and hopes, their sorrows and regrets, just by touching them.  She has no idea where this power comes from.  But the assassin, Alex, does.  Gorgeous, mysterious Alex knows more about Willow than Willow herself does.  He knows that her powers link to dark and dangerous forces and that he's one of the few humans left who can fight them.  When Alex finds himself falling in love with his sworn enemy, he discovers that nothing is as it seems, least of all good and evil.”

Willow is not thrilled to be uprooted from her home and family, stuck with a guy who hates her, and told she is “special” in a dark and sinister way… just what she planned for her senior year.  Not.  Despite the fact that she loves tinkering with cars and that her side business is doing private, psychic readings, Willow leads a pretty normal life.  Her mom sits around in a vegetative state, and at school Willow is the Odd-Girl-Out but, life is good.  In saunters Alex.  Alex is certainly tall, dark, and mysterious.  Despite his charm and good looks, he seems to despise Willow… and she’s stuck with him.

When I read this premise, I don’t bother to stop and think.  I act.  This is a book I know I HAVE to read.  Angels are big right now, and there are a lot of clich├ęs that come with an angel story, so I’m hoping that this book can overcome them and be fresh and new.  I do like the idea that the female main character is a mechanic since I normally would think that is something the guy would be interested in instead.

Right from the start of Angel Burn, I connect with Willow’s voice.  She just clicks with me.  I can hear the snark in her voice as if it is being spoken aloud, and it really helps draw me into the story.  At the beginning, I really love how Willow seems completely unconcerned with her status of “Queen Weird” and seems to take it in stride.  Though it would have been easier to change how she acts to get rid of that label, Willow doesn’t -- instead she stays true to herself and what she likes.

I really like that Willow has such a diverse set of relationships at the beginning of the book.  With her Mom, Willow is the caring supporter who constantly shows love and kindness to a women with serious health problems.  With her Aunt, it’s clear that there is a tense acceptance but not really a strong familial connection.  With her best friend, Nina, there is a close bond but a huge lack of faith on Nina’s part which I find to be very annoying… Sadly, none of these three characters remain prevalent throughout the book, so I have no idea how the bond between them and Willow might have changed.

I really really REALLY love the idea of angels fleeing to earth to escape their dying world and, in the process, slowly driving us all insane… literally.  Now I know it sounds kind-of sick and twisted when it’s put that way, but really it’s an ingenious, new twist on angels.  It reminds me of an alien invasion crossed with an infestation of a new breed of parasites trying to take over the world… yeah, that’s right, no wonder it is so easy to support Willow and Alex on the quest to stop them!

Speaking of Willow and Alex can you say:

“GET OVER YOUR PROBLEMS AND GET TOGETHER ALREADY??”

Ahem.  Because if not, let me know, and I will gladly say it for you.  These two are seriously too cute.  With all their dramatic tension, bickering, and internal personal turmoil, they seem more alike than either of them wants to admit.  The other thing that really accentuates their similarities is the way that the book is told through both of their perspectives.  It’s really interesting to see just how similar two totally different people’s thoughts can be!  As for Alex, there really isn’t much I can say other than he is infuriating, wonderful, headstrong, caring, dense, considerate, confusing and completely SMOLDERING.  I mean, really, don’t expect me to be able to form anything else coherent about him.

The Cover:

Oh gosh!  Do NOT even get me started on how much I love this cover.  I am a HUGE fan of pretty books, but what I like even more than a gorgeous cover is an intriguing SPINE.  If the spine catches my attention and the book isn’t horror or erotica, chances are I’m going to read it… because it already GRABBED me.  The detail work around the title font is the same on the spine, and it makes the whole book look alluring… besides one really cannot go wrong with black on gold!

I give Angel Burn 5 out of 5 hearts: I LOVED IT!!

See more about L.A. Weatherly at her website here: http://leeweatherly.com/

Buy Angel Burn here:

       Paperback             Ebook                Free 3 chapter preview!!

Tuesday, June 12, 2012

Weigh in Wednesday (#8)


waight-1
*I do ask that if you would like to participate please site me and my blog somewhere in the post.*

Todays topic:
Kindle vs. Nook

My Answer:  Personally I have only ever owned a Kindle... and I love it.  I really cannot imagine liking the Nook better.  I have a Kindle touch and we get along pretty well.. though I still much prefer a physical copy to a digital copy.  The only things I would change would be adding the ability for a back-light and having a way to turn pages that doesn't involve touching the screen.  It is my greatest fear that the screen will lock up one day and then I would be so screwed! I love my Kindle and I really enjoy its size and shape...



What about YOU? Do you prefer Kindle or Nook? 


Next weeks topic: Action/Adventure vs. Romance (if the story only has one)


Please email me with any topics you would like to see here on WiW at Epiloguereview@yahoo.com I would really appreciate any ideas you guys have!!


 If you would like to grab my picture to use here it is:


waight-1





Indie Author Giveaway Hop


About the Elle Strauss:


 "I write Young Adult and Middle Grade fiction. I'm a married mother of four and live in the beautiful Okanagan Valley, famous for beaches and vineyards. I'm fond of Lindt's sea salt dark chocolate and hiking in good weather. CLOCKWISE is my first YA release. You can find me on Facebook,twitter @elle_strauss, and my blog 
at www.ellestraussbooks.com
Come say hi!"



 About the Book:



 "Casey Donovan has issues: hair, height and uncontrollable trips to the 19th century! And now this—she’s accidentally taken Nate Mackenzie, the cutest boy in the school, back in time. Awkward.

Protocol pressures her to tell their 1860 hosts that he is her brother and when Casey finds she has a handsome, wealthy (and unwanted) suitor, something changes in Nate. Are those romantic sparks or is it just “brotherly” protectiveness?

When they return to the present, things go back to the way they were before: Casey parked on the bottom of the rung of the social ladder and Nate perched high on the very the top. Except this time her heart is broken. Plus, her best friend is mad, her parents are split up, and her younger brother gets escorted home by the police. The only thing that could make life worse is if, by some strange twist of fate, she took Nate back to the past again.

Which of course, she does."

 



 It sounds AWESOME!!! And here on Epilogue you have the chance to win the sequel Clockwiser!! Why are we giving away book two instead of book one? BECAUSE CLOCKWISE IS FREE RIGHT NOW ON AMAZON!!  That's right. I have included the amazon link below so you can go right to it!




*Giveaway is open internationally.*

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

Review: Spirit Fighter



 Title: Spirit Fighter
Author: Jerel Law

Book Summary:


“Seventh-grader Jonah Stone discovers that he is one-quarter angel--his mother is the daughter of a human and a fallen angel--and after she is kidnapped, Jonah and his sister, Eliza, must try to rescue her, with the help of prayers and a guardian angel.”




Jonah Stone is an average seventh grader… at least he thinks he is until he starts developing super strength.  Come to find out his mom is a nephilim, a child of a fallen angel and a human, making Jonah and his two younger siblings each one-quarter angel.  Soon after he realizes this, his mother is kidnapped and he and his younger sister will do whatever they can to rescue her.  Luckily, for them they have God on their side.

When I first read the blurb for Spirit Fighter, I am really excited.  It sounds like a great story plot line and I cannot wait to see how the different elements play out.  For me I know the religious elements that are presented won’t be a problem but it might be a hindrance for others.

This book has some seriously awesome aspects to it and I really enjoyed how it goes all out and ties back to scripture!  I think that since a main part of the book focuses on religion it makes sense that everything ties into it.  If it didn’t I would feel like it fell flat and only did it halfway which would be really disappointing. One of my favorite parts was the incorporation of the armor of God—it plays a huge part in the kids discovering what they can do.

The actual pace of Spirit Fighter was pretty good, but it seemed like the conflict was resolved very quickly.  All the events that took place seemed to happen back to back and it made the whole story seem rushed and unnaturally fast.  Then again who am I to say that angels don’t work at super speeds? ;)

This was definitely a book I enjoyed and I cannot wait to see what happens in the rest of the series.  It was nice to read a book pertaining to angels that had more to do with the actual religious aspect of them… since they are religious icons.  The other notable thing about Spirit Fighter was that the story was intriguing enough that I didn’t mind the lack of romance.  And there was NO romance with either of the MCs. For me that’s a big deal because usually a good romance will make or break the book. 

The Cover:

I like the cover of Spirit Fighter… but I think it’s a little too busy.  I had to look over it at least three times in order to get an idea of what was going on in it.  The other thing I had to do repeatedly was run my fingers over the raised up tentacle grooves.  The octopus’s suction cups are raised and shiny so it adds that much more depth to the cover.

I give Spirit Fighter 4 out of 5 hearts: Great Book!

Learn more about Jerel Law on his website here:  http://www.jerellaw.com

Buy Spirit Fighter here:

Paperback              Ebook

Monday, June 11, 2012

Interview with Julie Cross


 "Julie lives in central Illinois with her husband and three children. She never considered writing professionally until May of 2009. Since then, she hasn't gone a day without writing."



 Interview with Julie Cross:


 1)      What is your favorite holiday?

"Thanksgiving because I love carbs and because it feels kinda like Christmas without the hassle of gifts (buying or giving)."

2)      Who do you go to when your just having writers block, or just a bad day?

"Usually, I don’t write if I’m not in the mood. Or I work on something I am in the mood for."


3)      What is your favorite family activity?

"For my family we love going to the pool in the summer. "


4)      Name one book that had a huge impact on your life and what was the impact?

"Reading Jane Eyre my sophomore year of high school changed how I viewed books. I always LOVED reading but anything that sounded too academic scared me a little. I was in bad need of extra credit for a Western Civ class and my teacher said he’d give it to me if I read this book. I ended up finishing it in a couple days and loved it so much. When Junior year came around and we were given tons of “academic” fiction to read, I dove it to all those books and always finished early."


5)      What drove you to become a writer?

"Mostly the fact that I read so much and then I really wanted to be able to steer the story myself, to choose my own characters and situations. "


            6)      What is the best advice you have ever received?

"Wow…that’s a really hard question. Probably something practical like don’t get or use credits in college because they give them out like candy and you just end up in debt forever with 19% interest rates. I did not take that advice, however, I give it all the time."



7)      In 1-2 sentences please explain why we should read Tempest?

"People should read Tempest because I think it might surprise you as it has many people. It’s different and the audience is much broader than your typical YA novel."


8)      What is your favorite thing to eat for breakfast?

"Lucky Charms and toast with butter and strawberry jam."


9)      Any other books in the works? Goals for future projects? 

"Right now I’m focusing on book 2 edits and book 3 drafting. I have a lot of ideas, but I have to store them away for later on."


10)  Tell us your most rewarding experience since being published. 

"Probably fan emails and having teens and young people come up to me during signings and say that they’ve read and loved the book. That’s when it starts to feel real."


11)  What was your favorite book when you were a child/teen?

"My favorite book since at least fourth grade has been Little Women. "


12)  What TV show/movie/book do you watch/read that you'd be embarrassed to 
admit? 

"Dance Moms!"

13)  Do you read when you are working on a book.

"Yes, I read all the time."


14)  How did you choose the names for characters in Tempest?

"I don’t put too much thought into character names. I wish I could be better at this. It’s usually whatever comes to me first."

Saturday, June 9, 2012

June Releases + Summer Reading Begins!

Just released June 5th! 


Coming soon on June 12th!


Coming even later in June:


What are YOU looking forward to reading during the month of June or, as I like to call it, the first month of SUMMER??

Friday, June 8, 2012

Review: Intangible

Title: Intangible
Author: J. Meyers

Book Summary:

Twins Sera and Luke Raine have a well-kept secret—she heals with a touch of her hand, he sees the future. All their lives they’ve helped those in need on the sly. They’ve always thought of their abilities as being a gift.

Then Luke has a vision that Sera is killed. That gift they’ve always cherished begins to feel an awful lot like a curse. Because the thing about Luke’s ability? He’s always right.

And he can’t do anything about it.


I would like to think that if I had a twin we would get along like Sera and Luke do.  Sadly, if my experience with my brother is anything to go by, I don’t think that would be the case.  Sera and Luke have always had each other’s backs and they like it that way.  At school, they are always together, and they actually seem to enjoy and revel in each other’s company.  They are best friends and secrets don’t have any place between them… until Luke, the psychic who’s never wrong, sees Sera’s death.  Now he must race to change the future while they both struggle to keep their powers a secret.

The premise of Intangible is short, sweet, and to the point. It gets across that the book has a unique storyline, tightly woven family bonds, and lots of paranormal excitement!  My only real concern is that, from the summary, it is unclear if the book will focus on any other relationships besides that of their family… and I like it when I get to see friend and romantic relationships as well.

From the start of Intangible I can tell that the book is going to be unique and interesting.  Psychics, healers, ghosts, elves, goblins, vampires, fairies, and prophecies are all mentioned in the story so it has A LOT going on.  As a lover of the paranormal and a good book I must say that this is both. The characters all seem to flow together in a way that’s complimentary… where Sera is more reserved and tends to shy away from people Luke takes on a direct approach and meets things head on.  This duo is balanced by a third member, Fey, whose magnetic looks and personality attract most of the attention shot the trio’s way.

I am thrilled as I am reading to discover that the plot-line and relationship development go much deeper than the bond between the twins.  Tentative friendships with some unlikely characters and a blooming romance add to the story and keep my interest piqued throughout the novel.  Through these relationships I see the characters grow and change and, though towards the end I feel like I know them all personally, some of their decisions still manage to catch me off guard!

One of my biggest disappointments with Intangible is how often it changes perspective, and how little warning I get before it does.  I understand why Meyers felt it was necessary to write it this way, because having everyone’s perspective adds a LOT to the story, but it was just too much too fast. For example I would finally start to sink into Sera’s perspective when it would switch over to Luke—but that’s not all, Luke would be doing something completely different in a whole new setting.  So, I’m sitting here reading all intrigued and then the next minute I'm thinking:

“Wait. WHAT? Go back what does Sera do?”

That was probably my biggest problem with the story.  Putting that aside though it is a uniquely crafted story that definitely holds my attention.  I would recommend it to anyone who loves paranormal, prophecies, trying to thwart fate, and surprising twists and turns. Intangible is a book that will leave you begging for more, good thing it's a series...

             The Cover:

             I think that the cover uses really beautiful soothing hues to capture your gaze.  The colors aren't loud or super bright, and they don't force me to go get my sunglasses!  I think the cool tone works well with the dramatic shadowing of the face.  And of course the script that the title is written in looks awesome!  I swear I need to find all these gorgeous fonts... 

I give Intangible 4 out of 5 hearts: Great Read!

For more on J. Meyers visit her website here: http://www.jmeyersbooks.com/books/

Buy Intangible here:




Paperback              Ebook

Wednesday, June 6, 2012

Debut Author Giveaway Hop



 Today I am participating in the Debut Author Giveaway hop!! The debut author I am featuring is Laura Pauling, the author of A Spy Like Me

I first read In His Eyes an anthology that Laura has a short story in ( The Almost Assassin) and really enjoyed it.  I am really excited to read A Spy Like Me and I thought you guys should have that chance too!!  So without further ado here is the blurb for the book:



"Seventeen-year-old Savvy Bent expects magic on her first date with Malcolm - in Paris! Except over a picnic of sparkling cider and strawberry tortes, he gets shot at. That's only the beginning. From the top of the Eiffel Tower to the depths of the catacombs, Savvy must sneak, deceive, and spy to save her family and friends and figure out whether Malcolm is one of the bad guys before she completely falls for him.

A SPY LIKE ME is a cat and mouse adventure full of spies, a nefarious pastry chef, and a completely innocent teen girl. Well, not completely innocent."




Sounds good right?! 

So what you can win here is an E-copy of A Spy Like Me AND this giveaway is open internationally so everyone can enter!

a Rafflecopter giveaway