Wednesday, May 18, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday (#5)

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine to highlight upcoming releases we're excited about. 

This week I am eagerly awaiting...

Title: Lotus and Thorn
Author: Sara Etienne
Publication Date: June 7, 2016
Lotus and Thorn "A thrilling fantasy adventure perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce and Sarah Maas

Ravaged by a plague known as Red Death, the planet Gabriel, a former colony of Earth, is a barren wasteland. Since being abandoned by Earth 500 years ago, resources are scarce and life is cheap. To stay alive, the survivors, the Citizens, scavenge the remains of a now dead city, trading for food with the resource-rich Curadores, the only other survivors on Gabriel. Every old computer, every piece of wire, every scrap of metal counts. To steal is the ultimate sin. So when tough-as-nails seventeen-year-old Leica is caught doing just that, she's exiled and left to the mercy of Gabriel's unforgiving desert for the rest of her life."

Tamora Pierce is one of my ALL-TIME favorite authors and I am really excited to see this compared to her works. I was definitely getting some Star Wars vibes from this blurb and I was picturing Gabriel as a Rey of sorts.  

I did cut out some of the goodreads description for this book because it was incredibly long and I think that this first paragraph was enough of a teaser without much spoiler-y content!

Hopefully this book exceeds all my expectations! What book are you waiting on this week?? :)

Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday (#4)

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine to highlight upcoming releases we're excited about.

This week I am anxiously awaiting:
Title: The Crown's Game
Author: Evelyn Skye
Publication Date: May 17th, 2016
The Crown's Game (The Crown's Game, #1)"Vika Andreyeva can summon the snow and turn ash into gold. Nikolai Karimov can see through walls and conjure bridges out of thin air. They are enchanters—the only two in Russia—and with the Ottoman Empire and the Kazakhs threatening, the tsar needs a powerful enchanter by his side.

And so he initiates the Crown’s Game, an ancient duel of magical skill—the greatest test an enchanter will ever know.  The victor becomes the Imperial Enchanter and the tsar’s most respected adviser. The defeated is sentenced to death.

Raised on tiny Ovchinin Island her whole life, Vika is eager for the chance to show off her talent in the grand capital of Saint Petersburg. But can she kill another enchanter—even when his magic calls to her like nothing else ever has?

For Nikolai, an orphan, the Crown’s Game is the chance of a lifetime. But his deadly opponent is a force to be reckoned with—beautiful, whip smart, imaginative—and he can’t stop thinking about her.

And when Pasha, Nikolai’s best friend and heir to the throne, also starts to fall for the mysterious enchantress, Nikolai must defeat the girl they both love . . . or be killed himself.

As long-buried secrets emerge, threatening the future of the empire, it becomes dangerously clear . . . the Crown’s Game is not one to lose."

This comes from a debut author and it sounds fantastic! I have some seriously high hopes for this book after hearing that it is pitched to fans of Red Queen

I love the magical elements that the story promises and I want to learn so much more about enchanters! I like the idea that these two are pitted against each other and only one can survive--it makes for a special sort of tension. I haven't read many books set in Russia so I am definitely interested to read about some of the culture. Also, I think that the cover is stunning.

What are you waiting on this week??

**I want to let you all know that I am currently hosting two separate giveaways. The prizes include a all-in-one copy of The Chronicles of Narnia (US only) and any book from the book depository up to $18 (International).

For a chance to enter either of these amazing giveaways and to see my April Fandom of the Month unboxing click HERE!