Wednesday, May 18, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday (#5)

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine to highlight upcoming releases we're excited about. 

This week I am eagerly awaiting...

Title: Lotus and Thorn
Author: Sara Etienne
Publication Date: June 7, 2016
Lotus and Thorn "A thrilling fantasy adventure perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce and Sarah Maas

Ravaged by a plague known as Red Death, the planet Gabriel, a former colony of Earth, is a barren wasteland. Since being abandoned by Earth 500 years ago, resources are scarce and life is cheap. To stay alive, the survivors, the Citizens, scavenge the remains of a now dead city, trading for food with the resource-rich Curadores, the only other survivors on Gabriel. Every old computer, every piece of wire, every scrap of metal counts. To steal is the ultimate sin. So when tough-as-nails seventeen-year-old Leica is caught doing just that, she's exiled and left to the mercy of Gabriel's unforgiving desert for the rest of her life."

Tamora Pierce is one of my ALL-TIME favorite authors and I am really excited to see this compared to her works. I was definitely getting some Star Wars vibes from this blurb and I was picturing Gabriel as a Rey of sorts.  

I did cut out some of the goodreads description for this book because it was incredibly long and I think that this first paragraph was enough of a teaser without much spoiler-y content!

Hopefully this book exceeds all my expectations! What book are you waiting on this week?? :)


  1. Oh I love fantasy/scifi books like this! I just read one (Admiral by Sean Danker) that was a little disappointing but this one I have high hopes for. Adding to my TBR now. Thanks for sharing :)

    Here's my WoW.