Friday, December 14, 2012

Cover Reveal: Free Souls (Mindjack Trilogy #3)

Free Souls by Susan Kaye Quinn
(Book Three of the Mindjack Trilogy) Now Available!

THE SUMMARY FOR THIS BOOK CONTAINS SPOILERS FOR THE FIRST TWO BOOKS IN THE SERIES! PROCEED WITH CAUTION!
When your mind is a weapon, freedom comes at a price.
Four months have passed since Kira left home to join Julian’s Jacker Freedom Alliance, but the hole in her heart still whistles empty where her boyfriend Raf used to be. She fills it with weapons training, JFA patrols, and an obsessive hunt for FBI agent Kestrel, ignoring Julian’s worries about her safety and repeated attempts to recruit her for his revolutionary chat-casts. When anti-jacker politician Vellus surrounds Jackertown with the National Guard, Kira discovers there’s more to Julian’s concerns than she knew, but she’s forced to take on a mission that neither want and that might be her last: assassinating Senator Vellus before he can snuff out Julian’s revolution and the jackers she’s come to love.

All Mindjack stories available on Amazon, Barnes&Noble, Kobo, Smashwords, and iTunes (Note Free Souls is not yet available on iTunes)
Early Praise for Free Souls

“Quinn paints a picture of a not-too-distant America where politicians inflame the hatred of one section of the populace for another—all for their own gain—and you worry that her world is not so far off from our own.” --- Dianne Salerni, author of We Hear the Dead, The Caged Graves, and the forthcoming The Eighth Day  

"Free Souls starts with a bang and doesn't let up. Like a mash-up of all your favorite science-fiction adventures from Star Wars to The Legend of Korra, it blends nonstop action, nail-biting escapes, and great romance. I absolutely loved it! A great series conclusion—a must-read."
Leigh Talbert Moore, author of Rouge and The Truth About Faking

*Susan did it again. Free Souls was WOW! I expected Kira to step up to her role as heroine but not like this. Surprises kept coming until the very end which tied up more loose ends than I knew existed. Warning: Don't start reading until you have time to finish. I didn't want to put Free Souls down for a second. It's that kind of book.”
Sher A. Hart, Goodreads Review

Interview Susan's over at Amy Saunder's blog today (12.14.12), answering questions about how she came up with the mages' abilities, what kind of mage she would be, and all about her future works.  

Digital Box Set Since Free Souls is out, there is now a Digital Box Set of the Mindjack Trilogy for those of you who want the whole series!
Available on AmazonBarnes&Noble

Mindjack Origins Collection Want more Julian? Wondering how Sasha's ability really works? Looking for EXCLUSIVE DELETED SCENES from Free Souls? This collection of novellas, scenes, and other goodies is for those craving a bit more of the characters and drama of the Mindjack series.


Includes: Mindjack Novellas Mind Games (Raf's story) The Handler (Julian's story) The Scribe (Sasha's story)

 TWO EXCLUSIVE DELETED SCENES from Free Souls (published nowhere else!) PLUS Mindjack flash fiction, an (imaginary) conversation between Raf and Julian, and other goodies for readers who want just a little bit more of Kira, Julian, Raf, and the Mindjack crew.

Available on AmazonBarnes&Noble

ENTER TO WIN one of FIVE ecopies of the Mindjack Origins Collection
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, August 15, 2012

Weigh in Wednesday (#16)

waight-1
*I do ask that if you would like to participate please site me and my blog somewhere in the post.*

Todays topic: reading a book vs. listening to an audio book


My Answer: I enjoy reading a book over listening to one.  I think it's because the only time you really cannot read but you can listen to a book is in the car... and if I'm driving I would 1. not be able to forus on the plot details because I would be to busy worrying about watching the road or 2. I would be listening to the book and understanding the plot details and then I end up crashing my car... not a great option either way! :P  Besides all of that I tend to be able to read faster than the audio recorded person can talk. 

What about YOU? Do you prefer reading or listening to a book?

Please email me with any topics you would like to see here on WiW at Epiloguereview@yahoo.com I would really appreciate any ideas you guys have!!

 If you would like to grab my picture to use here it is:


waight-1

Sunday, August 12, 2012

Review: The Vampire Underground


Title: The Vampire Underground
Author: Brian Rowe

Book Summary:

“16-year-old Brin Skar hates everything to do with the supernatural, so the obsessive film geek isn't happy when she discovers that her junior year Film class at Grisly High is devoted to the horror genre.  She's even more disconcerted when she learns that six groups in the class will be writing and directing their very own horror movies.

Brin and five classmates travel to Bodie Ghost Town in California to shoot their creepy film, but they soon find themselves fighting a real terrifying threat when a clan of mean, bloodthirsty vampires emerge from beneath the surface and start attacking the group.  The teens, headed by Brin and the egotistical director Anaya Frost, have no help from the outside and become outnumbered by the vampires a hundred to one.

But when Brin meets Paul, a helpful and smoldering vampire outcast who's had enough of his shameful life, she realizes he might be the only key to her survival.

If I were told that my film class would be focusing exclusively on horror films, I would drop that class ASAP.  Brin isn’t thrilled about the subject matter either, but she decides to tough it out and maybe learn something new from the class.  When her teacher divides the class into groups to make short horror films, Brin decides to use the opportunity to try her hand at directing.  Too bad Anaya Frost wants to be the director, and the overconfident bully won’t take no for an answer.  The ensuing chaos lands the group in Bodie Ghost Town to shoot the film… and that’s when things start to get spooky.

Reading the premise, I am caught up in the idea Rowe weaves of a horror film shooting actually turning into a horror story.  It’s a fantastic idea, and it also brings with it the possibility of a new spin on the vampire story… you know, where they don’t all sparkle and look like Greek Gods.  The ideas portrayed in the summary are all very intriguing, and I really hope, when it all comes together, that it unfolds in a believable way.

The Vampire Underground truly works in a way I didn’t expect.  Rowe successfully meshed drama, vampires, a little bit of horror (not so much I had to put the book down), and romance in a tasteful way.  The story moved at a good pace, and I never got bored or felt like it was rushing.  I do think that the premise gives a little too much away because some of that information isn’t revealed until late in the book, but there are enough other surprises that kept my attention.

Brin is a very unique character.  Throughout The Vampire Underground I really see how she holds her ground and really pushes herself to become the best she can be.  It’s refreshing to see her tackle challenges and stand up for things she wants;.  She’s no shrinking violet, and I found that commendable.  Her relationship with her best friend, Ash, is totally platonic and very relatable.  We all have that one person whom we talk to everyday and would trust with our life.  For Brin, that person is Ash.  I won’t say too much, because I really want everyone to read the book for themselves, but Ash’s name has a back-story that should not be missed! 

One thing that I am not very happy with is the level of violence between the members of the film group.  Even before all the vampires are introduced, the students are constantly in each other’s faces and shouting.  I understand that they are high schoolers on a short leash, but COME ON, we aren’t that violent or volatile!  Everyone has people they don’t like, but this book takes it to a level that seems unrealistic and overdramatic. 

The horror aspect of this book is more gruesome than I expected, and it definitely has some OMGOSH moments.  Luckily, most of the book isn’t too scary or I wouldn’t have been able to finish it.  Overall, The Vampire Underground is entertaining and action packed, and some of the scenarios definitely set my heart racing!  Using the ghost town is a great way to include a creepy setting for the story and really adds to the realism of the plot.

            The Cover:
           
            Quite honestly, this cover does nothing for me.  The story is great and has a really serious feel to it that this cover just seems to mock.  I mean, it looks like a cartoon figure holding a banana.  Now, once I read the book and enlarged the image, I understand that it is indeed NOT a banana and the picture makes more sense.  But when I first see it, I think that this book is going to be a comedy or at least have comedic aspects.   It’s a cool cover, but one that I don’t feel is fitting to this book.

I give The Vampire Underground 4 out of 5 hearts: Great Book

Friday, August 10, 2012

Review:Onyx (A Lux nivel book 2)


THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS TO BOOK ONE, OBSIDIAN.  My review for Obsidian can be found here.

Title: Onyx (A Lux Novel: Book 2)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Book Summary:

“Being connected to Daemon Black sucks…

Thanks to his alien mojo, Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro connection.  So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days.  But we’ve got bigger problems.

Something worse than the Arum has come to town…

The Department of Defense are here.  If they ever find out what Daemon can do and that we're linked, I’m a goner.  So is he.  And there's this new boy in school who’s got a secret of his own.  He knows what’s happened to me and he can help, but to do so, I have to lie to Daemon and stay away from him.  Like that's possible.  Against all common sense, I'm falling for Daemon.  Hard.

But then everything changes…” (this is only part of the official summary! I felt the rest gave away part of the book plot that wasn’t revealed until way later!!)

I will admit that it sounds nice to have a super-hot alien following me around and trying to convince me that he likes me.  I mean, really, who wouldn’t want to be pampered that way!?  Well, Katy doesn’t seem too thrilled to have her hot alien (Daemon) following her every move.  She’s convinced his sudden change in attitude has to do with the whole freaky alien bond they have between them.  As Daemon steps up his attempts to prove his affection, Katy meets a new boy in school… a boy who seems to know more than he should. 

When I read the premise for Onyx, I am grabbed, tugged, pulled headlong, propelled, and basically dropkicked towards it.  There is NO WAY that I am not going to pick it up after how awesome Obsidian was and the summary confirmed that the plot is interesting.  My biggest issue with the premise is the mention of this other boy.  I really like Katy and Daemon’s hate/attraction thing that’s going on, and I REALLY don’t want another guy thrown into the mix… it’s already tense enough!

 At the beginning of the book, it’s clear that Katy and Daemon still have that fiery chemistry that I loved so much from book one… but, now Katy refuses to admit it.  With her convinced that the alien mojo is effecting both of their emotions, it looks like the relationship is going to stay on the “off limits” level.  While I am definitely not a fan of Katy and Daemon apart, I really like how Katy sticks to her guns.  Most of the time, the main girl gets all gushy and becomes a ditz when the guy looks her way.  Katy isn’t like that and, though her reasoning might be irrational, she really tries to stand her ground.

I am really impressed with Daemon’s decision to go after Katy and their relationship.  It would be so much simpler for him if at the very beginning he said,

“Well, sorry you feel that way. Bye.”

But, he’s not like that.  He takes initiative and goes after what he wants.  It’s admirable and makes him that much more attractive!  I also really like how Daemon continues to be overprotective and puts everyone ahead of himself.  Yes, it puts him at risk, but that’s who he is.  It’s obvious that Dee is his world and that Katy has joined that world.  I just wish Katy would realize that his feelings for her are true and accept that resistance is futile!  Daemon also earns serious brownie points for being supportive of her blog.  As a blogger, that definitely makes him infinitely cooler and adds just the right amount of sweetness to his gruff personality!

            Going in, I knew it would be difficult for Onyx to equal the intensity and passion I found in book 1, Obsidian.  Don’t worry.  It doesn’t equal Obsidian -- it surpasses it.  The characters all have depth and, through situations and dialogue, I really get to see sides of all the secondary characters that I didn’t know existed.  After a while, I start to wonder how things could possibly still surprise me… but, they did.  Everything is kept interesting but also has an underlying note of tension that keeps me on edge and turning pages.

Overall, the story is simply phenomenal.  I really enjoy that Onyx flows smoothly from the beginning to the end; so many things happen that it’s almost impossible to believe!  From the smoking hot relationship, to the weird alien bond, to the psychopaths out to kill them all, Onyx is nonstop action.  This is definitely a story that I love and one I am sure will captivate and entice my fellow readers to enjoy again, and again.

The Cover:

I really like how the color of the background matches the cover model’s shirt.  It makes Daemon stand out all the more!  I do like the setup but, in comparison with Obsidian’s cover, I have to say that I like the first one better.  I liked having Daemon turned fully towards the camera and having a much closer shot!!  I do like this cover though…  I think it has symbolic meaning for them to be back to back.  It makes me think they’re at odds with each other… and for most of the book they are!

I igve Onyx 5 out of 5 hearts: I loved it!!

Wednesday, August 1, 2012

Weigh in Wednesday (#15)

waight-1
*I do ask that if you would like to participate please site me and my blog somewhere in the post.*

Todays topic: Jacob vs. Edward (Yes I mean Twilight) 


My Answer: Personally I have problems with both of them (please don't attack me!!).  Though both characters disappointed me I would have to choose Edward as my favorite.  (SPOILERS AHEAD) Jacob lost the race when he imprinted on the baby, for me!! What about you guys do you prefer Edward or Jacob?


What about YOU? Do you prefer Jacob or Edward?



Please email me with any topics you would like to see here on WiW at Epiloguereview@yahoo.com I would really appreciate any ideas you guys have!!

 If you would like to grab my picture to use here it is:


waight-1

Tuesday, July 24, 2012

Weigh in Wednesday (#14)

waight-1
*I do ask that if you would like to participate please site me and my blog somewhere in the post.*

Todays topic: light blog background vs dark blog background

My Answer: as a matter of what's easier to see it depends on how tired I am... If i have been up for a long time and my vision is kindof blurry I find that black on white is easier for me to read.  Most of the other times I think white on black stands out better and is easier to read. Because of this I tend to like dark backgrounds because I think the contrast in colors shows up better and really POPS more. 


What about YOU? Do you prefer light blog background vs dark blog background?



Next weeks topic: Jacob vs. Edward (Yes I mean Twilight) 

Please email me with any topics you would like to see here on WiW at Epiloguereview@yahoo.com I would really appreciate any ideas you guys have!!

 If you would like to grab my picture to use here it is:


waight-1


Wednesday, July 18, 2012

Weigh In Wednesday (#13)



waight-1

*I do ask that if you would like to participate please site me and my blog somewhere in the post.*

Todays topic: Adult Fiction vs. Ya Fiction

My Answer:  I adore YA fiction and it is by far my favorite of the two genres. I think the reason I like Ya so much is that it connects to my life so much.  When you read an adult fiction story you have to look pretty hard to find one that fits your life enough for you to enjoy it.  Ya almost always fits my life because most teenagers go through the same things.  Parental angst, school troubles, boy/girl problems... most everyone goes through it.  That's why I prefer Ya Fiction to Adult Fiction


What about YOU? Do you prefer adult fiction or YA fiction? 


Next weeks topic: light blog background vs dark blog background

Please email me with any topics you would like to see here on WiW at Epiloguereview@yahoo.com I would really appreciate any ideas you guys have!!

 If you would like to grab my picture to use here it is:


waight-1


Sunday, July 15, 2012

Review: Dark Companion

Title: Dark Companion
Author: Marta Acosta

Book Summary:

“When foster teen Jane Williams is invited to attend elite Birch Grove Academy for Girls and escape her violent urban neighborhood, she thinks the offer is too good to be true.  She's even offered her own living quarters, the groundskeeper's cottage in the center of the birch grove.

Something's not quite right about the school -- or is it Jane?  She thinks she sees things in the birch grove at night.  She's also beginning to suspect that the elegant headmistress and her sons are hiding secrets.  Lucky is the gorgeous, golden son who is especially attentive to Jane, and Jack is the sardonic puzzling brother.

The school with its talented teachers and bright students is a dream for a science and math geek like Jane.  She also loves her new friends, including hilarious poetry-spouting rich girl, Mary Violet.  But the longer Jane stays at Birch Grove, the more questions she has about the disappearance of another scholarship girl and a missing faculty member.

Jane discovers one secret about Birch Grove, which only leads to more mysteries.  What is she willing to sacrifice in order to stay at this school...and be bound to Birch Grove forever?”

            Jane Williams suffers an abusive childhood at the hands of her step-dad.  After being removed from the traumatic situation, Jane represses the memories and goes about her life as a troubled orphan.  When she gets the chance to go to Birch Grove on a full scholarship, she doesn’t hesitate to go.  All to soon, Jane will realize that Birch Grove is housing mysterious secrets that will shake everyone’s lives, especially her own.

            I really like the story premise for Dark Companion; it sounds like a gothic novel that I would enjoy.  I really don’t read a lot of “gothic novels” because many books in the genre are too dark for me to enjoy.  I am definitely interested in the mystery that is surrounding Birch Grove, and it goes a long way to draw my attention to the book. 

            When I first meet Jane, I am stunned by the attention to detail and how Acosta has fleshed-out the character.  Jane seems to jump off the pages and come alive while I’m reading.  Her initial attitude at the adoption house makes me wonder if she might be tough to relate to, but I soon come to see just how driven and determined she is to succeed.  I am so glad when Jane gets the scholarship to Birch Grove and has the chance to start over again. 

            This book features two very different boys, who happen to be brothers.  Jack is infuriating and thoughtful, while Lucky is flattering and easygoing.  Jane has no question as to which brother she likes, but it is still fun to watch their antics.  I am disappointed by Jane’s interaction with Lucky.  She allows herself to be put in situations that she wouldn’t want anyone else to be in, and she doesn’t even seem to recognize it.  Personally, I think her character is stronger than that! 

            I am really glad that I took the opportunity to read Dark Companion.  It gave me a fresh new look at the paranormal and introduced gothic literature in a way that didn’t turn me off.  I will definitely read more of this genre in the future.  I am very pleased with the ending and would love it if Acosta ever decides to write a sequel!  Dark Companion is definitely a book that I recommend.

The Cover:

            What can I say about this cover?  It’s a girl in a BEAUTIFUL dress surrounded by a forest.  A dark, bare, lonely looking forest.  The effect it gives is eerily haunting and altogether stunning.  I thought the cover was very fitting to the book!


I give Dark Companion 4.5 out of 5 hearts: Very Highly Recommended

Tuesday, July 10, 2012

Weigh in Wednesday (#12)

So sorry for not being around this past week, I took the time to get things done for colleges and to get ahead on reading. Which means some awesome reviews will be coming soon! ;)

waight-1
*I do ask that if you would like to participate please site me and my blog somewhere in the post.*


Todays topic:
Peeta vs. Gale


My Answer:  if I'm being completely honest I have to admit it has been a LONG time since I read The Hunger Games series.  My answer here is from what I remember thinking WHILE reading the books... so it might be a little off what I would think now. I remember when I first read The Hunger Games I really liked Gale and I was really, really annoyed that Peeta was viewed as a love interest. Over the course of the books I remember coming over to Peeta's side because he seemed to make her happiest.  Besides I am more than okay with Gale being left open for me. ;)

What about YOU? Do you prefer Peeta or Gale? 


Next weeks topic: Adult fiction vs. Ya fiction


Please email me with any topics you would like to see here on WiW at Epiloguereview@yahoo.com I would really appreciate any ideas you guys have!!

 If you would like to grab my picture to use here it is:

waight-1




Tuesday, July 3, 2012

Weigh in Wednesday (#11)

waight-1


*I do ask that if you would like to participate please site me and my blog somewhere in the post.*


Todays topic:
fairytale retelling vs. the original fairytale


My Answer:  I am a fairytale fanatic, addict, lover... all these words apply!  I admit it.  I love, love LOVE the original fairytale stories of Cinderella, Snow White and Sleeping Beauty... they are just so magical.  There's a reason those stories are so popular, and that reason is that they resonate with all of us.  They appeal to the little girl inside us all who wishes a prince would fall in love with us. :)  Even though original fairytales will always have a special place in my heart I ADORE fairytale retellings even more.  To take a story that was good to begin with and transform it further into ANOTHER masterpiece is extraordinary to me.  Of course not all retellings are well written and work for me... but when they are done well they are my favorite!

What about YOU? Do you prefer fairytale retelling or the original fairytale? 


Next weeks topic: Peeta vs. Gale


Please email me with any topics you would like to see here on WiW at Epiloguereview@yahoo.com I would really appreciate any ideas you guys have!!

 If you would like to grab my picture to use here it is:


waight-1


Sunday, July 1, 2012

A few of the July releases!

Title: Dark Companion 
"When foster teen Jane Williams is invited to attend elite Birch Grove Academy for Girls and escape her violent urban neighborhood, she thinks the offer is too good to be true. She's even offered her own living quarters, the groundskeeper's cottage in the center of the birch grove.

Something's not quite right about the school -- or is it Jane? She thinks she sees things in the birch grove at night. She's also beginning to suspect that the elegant headmistress and her sons are hiding secrets. Lucky is the gorgeous, golden son who is especially attentive to Jane, and Jack is the sardonic puzzling brother.

The school with its talented teachers and bright students is a dream for a science and math geek like Jane. She also loves her new friends, including hilarious poetry-spouting rich girl, Mary Violet. But the longer Jane stays at Birch Grove, the more questions she has about the disappearance of another scholarship girl and a missing faculty member.

Jane discovers one secret about Birch Grove, which only leads to more mysteries. What is she willing to sacrifice in order to stay at this school...and be bound to Birch Grove forever?"



 Title: So Close to You
 "Lydia Bentley has heard stories about the Montauk Project all her life: stories about the strange things that took place at the abandoned military base near her home and the people who've disappeared over the years. Stories about people like her own great-grandfather.

When Lydia stumbles into a portal that transports her to a dangerous and strange new reality, she discovers that all the stories she's ever heard about the Montauk Project are true, and that she's in the middle of one of the most dangerous experiments in history.

Alongside a darkly mysterious boy she is wary to trust, Lydia begins to unravel the secrets surrounding the Project. But the truths behind these secrets force her to question all her choices--and if Lydia chooses wrong, she might not save her family but destroy them . . . and herself."



Title: Insignia
 "More than anything, Tom Raines wants to be important, though his shadowy life is anything but that. For years, Tom’s drifted from casino to casino with his unlucky gambler of a dad, gaming for their survival. Keeping a roof over their heads depends on a careful combination of skill, luck, con artistry, and staying invisible.

Then one day, Tom stops being invisible. Someone’s been watching his virtual-reality prowess, and he’s offered the incredible—a place at the Pentagonal Spire, an elite military academy. There, Tom’s instincts for combat will be put to the test, and if he passes, he’ll become a member of the Intrasolar Forces, helping to lead his country to victory in World War Three. Finally, he’ll be someone important: a superhuman war machine with the tech skills that every virtual-reality warrior dreams of. Life at the Spire holds everything that Tom’s always wanted—friends, the possibility of a girlfriend, and a life where his every action matters—but what will it cost him?

Gripping and provocative, S. J. Kincaid’s futuristic thrill ride of a debut crackles with memorable characters, tremendous wit, and a vision of the future that asks startling, timely questions about the melding of humanity and technology."


What do YOU think of these new books you can look forward to in July??

Thursday, June 28, 2012

Review: Awakening


Title: Awakening
Author: Karice Bolton

Book Summary:

"Alone in snowy, remote Whistler village, Ana tries to build a new life since losing her parents. With a cozy condo, a sweet-faced bulldog and an evening job to leave the days free for the slopes, life slips into a great routine. If only she could shake the guilt for not remembering anything about her parents and banish the night terrors that haunt her every dream.

On a whim, Ana goes out with Athen, a guy she's just met in the Grizzly Pub... The only problem is that she feels like she already knows him.

Within 48 hours of meeting Athen and his family, Ana's world implodes. She falls for Athen quickly and before she knows it, a past life begins to resurface. As thrilling as the revelations appear at first, she fights against the chilling information that Athen is from the underworld. Soon she begins to struggle as her own supernatural gifts are slowly unveiled, and she realizes that the nightmares she's been having might be premonitions and not dreams at all.
It is up to Ana to decipher between fact and fiction before it is too late, and her new love, Athen, follows in her same fate - one that is lost between two worlds."


            One of the first things that sticks out to me when I read the premise is how fast the timeline in the book must move... 48 hours is NOT a lot of time!!  I am a little concerned about how fast it \ her relationship with Athen and family seems to develops and I hope it seems plausible.  It is interesting that Ana has been having night terrors and cannot remember anything about her parents... sounds like a mystery to me. 

            Ana's life is pretty uncomplicated until she meets Athen and his mysterious, alluring family.  Ever since that fated meeting everything she knows will change... and FAST.  For reasons unknown to her Ana knows that she can trust them all with her life and instantly feels safe in their presence.  Her fears are put to rest and they always know how to sooth her ruffled feathers.  In fact they all start to seem a little too familiar and now Ana wants answers... but is she prepared for the trouble the answers will bring?

            I really liked Ana's character from the beginning.  She seemed normal enough with just the right amount of tragedy and fear to make you want something good to happen for her, and it does.  I will admit I really didn't like the whole: "Oh, I'm going to fall all over myself and drool all over everyone because we all have this insane connection" thing that seemed to be going on.  I get it They know each other from a past life but really? WHY does she have to turn into a pile of mush?  After Ana meets Athen and his family she starts to become a bad employee and, at the very beginning, admits to herself that she starts to neglect her friend and her dog.  I was really glad she noticed even if she didn't do a whole lot to change it. 

            I think the background story on the the connection between Athen, his family and Ana is really creative and well thought out.  I did get a little confused at times about the details but by the end i had a really good grasp on the concepts.  Something that annoyed me while reading was how much I knew going into the story... I found that the premise given gave away many things that the story set up as "mysteries" so those things seemed pretty anticlimactic.

            Overall I thought Awakening had a really unique plotline and it was easy enough to follow along with the explanations.  I found the insta-love to be a bit overbearing but the rest of the interactions between Ana and Athen were sweet and completely heartwarming!  The end of the book does leave me clamoring for book two because really you CAN NOT just leave it like that.  I will definitely pick up book two and continue the series...hopefully they got all the inst love gooeyness completely out of their systems by now!

The Cover

            I love the font the title is written in, it's really beautiful!  The girl's dress is simply gorgeous and I love the wings... but it gives the book a more "fairy" vibe which is NOT accurate.  I do like how the forest in front of the girl smudges out so it looks more mysterious! 

I give Awakened 3 out of 5 hearts: Worth Reading!

Tuesday, June 26, 2012

Weigh in Wednesday (#10)

waight-1


*I do ask that if you would like to participate please site me and my blog somewhere in the post.*


Todays topic:
reading one book at a time vs. reading multiple books at a time


My Answer:  If I am going to spend my time reading (which actually happens quite often) I'm going to give the book my sole attention. Why would I want to hurt the poor books feelings?  Besides  it just gets too confusing for me to try juggling three books at the same time.  I did try it once and when I got about halfway through all of them they seemed to realize that I was seeing other books and they all conspired to become in-depth and confusing.  It gave me a headache and put me in my place ;)  I realized from then on that it really helps me connect better to each story if that's the only one I focus on, and so that's what I do.  The only exception to this rule is when I have a book assigned to me for school. 

What about YOU? Do you prefer  reading one book at a time or reading multiple books at a time? 


Next weeks topic: fairytale retelling vs. the original fairyrale

Please email me with any topics you would like to see here on WiW at Epiloguereview@yahoo.com I would really appreciate any ideas you guys have!!

 If you would like to grab my picture to use here it is:


waight-1

Review: Slack Tide


Title: Slack Tide
Author: Vanessa Barger

Book Summary:

“At a time when most girls are worried about prom dresses, Lorelei Stamper is worried about losing her skin -- literally. Receiving a sealskin from her Aunt, her world is changed. Not only is she a selkie, but she holds the key to breaking a curse affecting all selkie.

Now monsters are stalking her, forcing her to decide if she will end the curse before she even really understands what’s happening. When Declan, one of two bodyguards sent to protect her, wakes her sleeping heart, she must try to balance love, surviving her senior year, and deciding whether she wants to be human or not. No matter what she chooses, the fact remains that breaking the curse demands blood. Hers.”

            Lorelei Stamper is ecstatic to receive a gift from her beloved aunt, but is confused when she pulls out a sealskin.  Confused and annoyed at her mothers intense, negative reaction to the admittedly bizarre present Lorelei tries to confront her about it.  Her mom remains tight-lipped and gets ever more controlling and overprotective.  As heated words are exchanged at home, Lorelei must figure out senior year, her feelings for Declan, and break an ancient curse that threatens everyone…

            I really, really like mythology and the ocean so a story about merpeople, selkies, gorgons, anything like that, is usually enjoyable for me.  When I read the summary for Slack Tide I was fascinated by the incorporation of selkies, a prophecy, and a teenage girl.  It just sounds so intriguing and I cannot wait to figure it out! I am also looking forward to the monsters stalking her, it seems to me that stories start off more interesting when the action starts while the MC is still adjusting!

            I really like Lorelei, she comes across as a very respectful individual but still doesn’t take crap from anyone.  I wasn’t very fond of her initial cold and aloof attitude towards Declan, even though she had his best interests at heart.  I loved watching her come out of her shell and realize that some people really DO think she’s worth fighting for… if she’ll let them.  It was obviously a hard thing for her to comprehend and it helped me empathize with her. Throughout Slack Tide she proved herself to be a strong, selfless individual who lets her passion for those she cares about guide her decisions.

            Declan is a WONDERFUL character and I cannot imagine anyone better for Lorelei.  He is kind and it’s obvious that he cares deeply for her.  I do have a problem with a few of his tactics and some of his male arrogance but he (slowly) overcomes those faults and learns from his mistakes.  I loved watching him grow and develop as a character! 

            The other thing I absolutely love about Slack Tide is the friendships that are shown.  I LOVE how Lorelei’s best friend, reacts to all the problems going on at Lorelei’s house… it’s just so genuine.  Her best friend is her family, and that's how I have always thought it should be.  Throughout the story frequent jokes and serious discussions show how close the two really are, and it makes the whole scary prophecy aka: OMG someone is going to DIE thing, seem a little less frightening.  

            The Cover

            The cover does a great job of incorporating the romance and the water that take place in Slack Tide.I love how it incorporates the couple, beautiful design work around the title and then continues down to the ocean. It is really quite genius!

I give Slack Tide 4.5 out of 5 hearts: Very Highly Recommended!

Monday, June 25, 2012

Oh, I haven't forgotten...

            Hey guys, I know I hit the 1000 follower mark a few weeks ago and I cannot tell you how overjoyed I am that so many people share my love of books!  If I could give each and every one of you a huge hug I would.  BUT since I think that might come off a tad bit creepy I am just going to settle for throwing fake confetti in the air and flinging cyber hugs towards my computer.  Yeah, you're really lucky you can't see how silly I just looked doing that!

Anyways, I just wanted to put your fears to rest: I DO have a HUGE giveaway planned for you all.  It should be up and running soon, I'm just waiting on a few more goodies from some awesome authors who are helping to make this giveaway AMAZING. 

            Since it has taken a bit longer than expected I'll give you a little idea of whats in store for you guys... Books, ebooks, and Swag (including but not limited to: bookmarks, bracelets, magnets, buttons, bookplates, notebooks, and even a pair of pajamas!!)  Sounds fantastic right??

            The giveaway will be in two parts, part one will be for US only and part two will be for International only.  That way all of you lovely people can have a chance to win!  So what say you, are you excited?!? What would YOU be most interested in winning?

~Lauren

Friday, June 22, 2012

Review: Thoughtless


Title: Thoughtless
Author: Jacqueline Gardner

Book Summary:

“When Bridget finds a dead cheerleader in the janitor’s closet, she becomes the killer’s next target. High school just got worse. It’s bad enough that she can hear the shocking truths that pass through her classmate’s heads. Now she has to worry about staying alive, and all clues point to the one person whose thoughts she can’t read - her boyfriend Terrence. Someone is taunting her, threatening to expose her secret. And when Bridget tries to single out her blackmailer, she’s nearly beaten to death by a mind controlled minion with fiery eyes.

But when Bridget finally comes face-to-face with the killer, suddenly a horde of brainwashed students programmed to destroy her life doesn’t seem so bad.”

Bridget has always been a little different, her normal routine? Get up, go to school, ignore the disgusting thoughts of the high school boys and judgmental thoughts of the girls, and go home.  All the while she has to make sure to keep her abnormal ability a secret and staying out of the spotlight is a good way to start.  Until she finds the body of a cheerleader in the janitor’s closet.  Bridget’s world is about to get a whole lot more complicated.

When I first read the premise for Thoughtless I wasn’t sure what to think… I was a little worried it would be to dark and disturbing for my tastes—I mean it DOES start off with an immediate death—but then I decided it would be worth it!  The summary sounds interesting and I think it will be an enjoyable, fast read.

Thoughtless started great, I was excited for the characters and Bridget’s ability, and it looked like it was going to be a fantastic thriller/mystery/romance.  Than quite a few things happened.  First Bridget throws caution to the wind and goes gaga over this new guy, she immediately can’t get enough of him and blows off other people to be with him.  NOT the way I thought her character would act, AT ALL. So that was pretty disappointing.  Then she starts being a jerk to people who are just trying to help her, she says some really cruel things and, though she apologizes and regrets her words, it makes me think less of her.  With those two things aside her character seems like an average person who has ups and downs and comes across as a very realistic person who I might see walking in the halls of my school!

The storyline itself was really predictable for me, and there weren’t a whole lot of twists that I saw didn’t coming.  That doesn’t mean that they would be that way for everyone, but for me that’s what happened. I did like the whole mind control twist that was thrown in, it made the scenes when she is scared for her life (which she really should be) much more dramatic and believable… well if you discount the fact that mind control isn’t real. ;)

Though I had some problems with Thoughtless it really is a good, fast read and I enjoyed it!  Though it did end with a cliffhanger and I didn’t feel that the ending resolved much I am hoping that’s due to book two and that the answers lie there. I would definitely pick up book two to read because it was a entertaining, quick read… and the end leaves me with some SERIOUS questions!  I would recommend reading Thoughtless if you want something fast, action filled, and full of paranormal abilities!

The Cover:

I like how the girl on the cover has shocking white hair… it makes all the other colors on the cover really pop.  I also like how the house in the background has a older look.  When you combine it with the sliver of a moon it gives the cover a undertone of creepy!

I give Thoughtless 3 out of 5 hearts: Worth Reading.


Unsure if Thoughtless is the book for you? Right now you can get the eBook free!  Go ahead, try it and let me know what YOU think!




Tuesday, June 19, 2012

Weigh in Wednesday (#9)

waight-1


*I do ask that if you would like to participate please site me and my blog somewhere in the post.*


Todays topic:
Action/Adventure vs. Romance (if the story only has one)


My Answer:  If a book is only going to have one I want it to have action or adventure.... If a book just has romance the plot won't be very detailed and I find  my mind drifting away from the book.  Action holds my attention with its fast paced nature while adventure piques my curiosity! Ideally a book would have both traits but if not Action/Adventure is the way to go for me.  :)



What about YOU? Do you prefer Action/Adventure or Romance (if the story only has one)? 


Next weeks topic: Reading one book at a time vs. Reading multiple books at a time


Please email me with any topics you would like to see here on WiW at Epiloguereview@yahoo.com I would really appreciate any ideas you guys have!!

 If you would like to grab my picture to use here it is:


waight-1



Review + Giveaway: Caterpillar (Blog Tour)


Review:

Title: Caterpillar
Author: Kate Oliver

Book Summary:

“In a small college town in northern California, a lonely young man is working himself to the bone to solve a sixty-year-old problem ... a stranger with a will of iron and eyes the color of ice is searching for someone he can't identify ... and a girl who loves plants is about to grow roots of her own.

When Cara Gallagher's parents are transferred overseas again, she's off to spend her senior year of high school living with her sister, a graduate student at the famed McNair University. Cara, a girl with a passion for science and an indifference to people, hopes this move will be her first step in claiming the independence she craves. Cara has her future planned down to the letter: her college, her major, her career.

Then she saves Will Mallory's life, and both of their futures are completely rewritten.

The last years of Will's life have been spent shifting from one identity to the next, dodging the FBI, and trying desperately to find a way home. But Will's home is forty-four light years away, and to reach it he'll have to outwit the man who's hunting him--and leave behind the only love he's ever known.”

Cara’s family life really sucks.  Her parents are moving over seas at the beginning of her senior year and Cara will be living with her sister.  Living with her sister definitely has its ups and downs, the ups—living in the same house as her best friend.  The downside is that her best friend seems a little overprotective now.  When Cara goes for a drive to explore the beach near her new home she comes across a troublesome sight, a boy who looks like he’s trying to get himself skewered on the jagged rocks below.  As Cara decides to intervene she unknowingly instigates a bond that neither of them could have ever imagined…

Okay the premise was pretty captivating, I mean the GIRL saves the GUY.  Major brownie points right there!  I am really interested to read this because of the alien theme… I haven’t read very many YA alien books but I really enjoyed the ones I have read.  I am a little worried because when I read books like this there’s always that fear that the two MCs will be so different that it can’t work… I do NOT want that to happen!!

            From the very first chapter I was hooked, it just really fell into place.  I didn’t ever find myself feeling like it was to fast of a pace—it felt really comfortable.  It was incredible how at each turn I would still be surprised with some detail of the plotline, and towards the end I kept thinking;

“Poor Cara, she really can’t catch a break!”

            One of the things that I was really happy with was the relationship between Cara and Will.  First off, I LOVED that she rescued him and that he seemed very dependant on her emotionally… it was really touching but still managed not to feel creepy and overbearing.  The other thing about their relationship that was well done was how it evolved: it was insta-attraction not insta-omgIamsofreakinginlovewithyou.  They start off as friends and it’s really nice to see the evolution of their feelings and thoughts, it helps them develop as characters.

            From the very beginning it was clear to me that Cara was a soft spoken individual who loves to create magic.  Her soft-spoken nature is revealed immediately along with her willingness to let things go for the sake of now causing a scene.  The love of magic is something that I saw when she got back to her sister’s house, Cara loves gardening.  She gets such a great feeling from knowing that something comes from plain old brown dirt.  Beautiful things, horrifying things, unexpected things… all you really have to do is use your imagination!  I think in part her deep connection with gardening has to do with the fact that she looks at herself as simple, and unimpressive—just like the dirt she so dearly loves.

Cara really needs to find a four-leaf clover or something because the WORST things keep popping up.  First there are HORRIBLE people at school, then you get to tack on family problems, senior year school/college prep, a new (ALIEN) boyfriend, AND oh by the way the FBI are chasing them.  How’s that for normal? 

The Cover:

I really like the moth on the girls hand… it really ties in the caterpillar/biology themes that are introduced throughout the story.  The green in the dress is really beautiful against the night sky and I really like the soft glow that seems to encompass the girl.  This cover just seems to have a soothing effect and I really like it!

I give Caterpillar 4.5 out of 5 hearts: Very Highly Recommended!

Giveaway: 
(Open Internationally)
a Rafflecopter giveaway